Checks Five-0h 4.20

FI 420

4.20 Pe’epe’e Kanaka translated by CBS to Those Among Us
Original Airdate: April 25, 2014

The investigation of a murdered pool cleaner leads Five-0 to uncover a possible terrorist cell of radicalized students who are plotting an attack on US soil.

Check out AOLwww’s rap-sheet with great BTS pics and other goodies.

Do you remember how long the hiatus was and how excited we all were when 4.01 aired?

If you like you can read the review by clicking on the picture.

FI 4-01

I can’t believe that the next hiatus is almost here again. Filming ended a few weeks ago and the people bringing us great entertainment for many months a year enjoying their time off.

We still have two more weeks before there won’t be any new Hawaii Five-0 episodes for a few months. I read somewhere that the new season will premiere on September 12, which I think would be very early. But I have no idea how accurate that date is; my guess would be more around 19th or even 26th of September. But we will know soon enough.

Anyway, let’s focus on this episode.

It was directed by the stunt boss Jeff Cadiente, who just recently proposed to his future wife. Watch he cute video if you haven’t done so yet. 

His name stands for quality in stunt work, and so we could be sure this episode would be full of action. And we surely weren’t disappointed in that regard.

Before I start with the review let me say something right upfront. You’re getting used to that, right? 😉

This episode was not anti-islam in any way. This was about a radical group who twisted a great holy book around to fit their agenda. Just like all radical groups do, they cherry-pick what fits them. This episode did not single out a religion and painted it bad. On the contrary. It made it very clear that those radicals are not what Islam is about.

There are just as many radical nuts out there from any believe-fraction. I think Five-0 handled this very well. If you think otherwise, maybe you should watch the show again and listen to what they were saying.

We started the show with the crime of the week, or at least we thought so. Soon we learned that the pool guy’s death was just the tip of the iceberg of a much bigger crime. 

42000001

42000002

I absolutely loved it how Chin got Lou to try again with the spearfishing. Guess Lou is just as competitive as McG is. It was great how they followed this through the whole episode. Now, that is how banter should be done. Without any nastiness and without hurting anyone’s feelings.

42000004

42000005

So, now after the dramatic and the fun opening of the episode we start with the investigation.

I always thought it was interesting what people think to know about a person by reading their resume. Really, that doesn’t says anything about the person. Like Kono put the, as we learn later, terrorist into the harmless ‘just a kid’ category. Just because she’s a student and had no run-ins with the law yet.

It’s something we all do. But seeing only the surface doesn’t tell you what kind of person it is. It’s like judging a book by its cover. Not complaining here at all, on the contrary, applauding the show to go this way and showing the dangers of really not knowing even your next door neighbor. 

42000006

42000007

Loved how our young cop-friend came back. Now an officer with HPD. By the way, he will NOT be the new member of Five-0, now, will he? That would be just stupid. Just saying.

Don’t you think he looks like a young Adam? Just take a few pounds off him and he would be Adam’s younger brother.

He is kind of cute, but also a little creepy, if you ask me.

42000008

But CopKid helped them find a big clue about what was going on and what they tried to hide. Cooking Meth? Well, not quite, but a good start.

42000011

Let’s have a look of some of the beauties of Hawaii. 😉

42000012

42000013

I must say, hadn’t I known, I wouldn’t have suspected her to have anything to do with it. She was really good.

A little hint for the wardrobe department… again. Please give the actors sunglasses! It hurts my eyes to watch them squint in the glaring sun of Hawaii. First, it doesn’t look good on screen, and second, it really hurts their eyes.

Almost 12 minutes into the episode and Danny makes an appearance. Actually I liked that they kept him on light duty after he was injured in last weeks episode. Finally keeping it a bit real. Even though I wonder where Steve’s wounds disappeared to. He had some nasty cuts on his face, just like Danny. Danny’s are still slightly there, but I guess Steve healed over night, just like when he was shot in the arm in 4.08, there was also never a scar. 😉

I actually totally had to laugh at their conversation. No, not about Danny’s stupid remark about Catherine, that again was totally uncalled for and insensitive. No, I laughed at the slap in the face of all the McDannos out there. For me, their ‘I love yous’ are nothing but just that. I think it’s hilarious to throw this around so often. Because, frankly, it doesn’t mean anything.

It’s like, ‘love you, jerk’ thrown right over your shoulder.

Oddly enough, this is the one time I do like ‘right into your face’. LOL This ILY has become a phrase so quickly, I think it’s amusing. 

And after Chin informed Steve about a possible player in the plot, they went to bring in Joseph Son for questioning. But he obviously had other ideas and thanks to that we got our first real action. And what a stunt that was. Great work guys.

One question though. Why was this gap in the balustrade around the roof?

42000041

It is really strange and I’m not even sure why, but I’m always thrilled to see Duke Lukela. He’s such a good character on the show, and I think it’s great that he’s seen so often.

42000052

And thanks to the lab guys they found out that they weren’t cooking Meth, but were making a bomb.

42000057

ROFL – “That fish was probably old, depressed, maybe a little senile. You know… swimming around… looking for a tiger shark to end his days… and then he bumped into you.”

I think these two are just hilarious. I love them so much.

42000062

42000063

I really liked it how Steve went to Lou for help. And without even knowing what it was, he agreed to give whatever Steve needed. Cool.

Steve is right, it must be the biggest fear of any agency to not know about the dormant threat that lies in radicals right under your nose. People who has no obvious ties to any criminal or terrorist organization. But their bombs are just as deadly.

I think this is a very scary thought, because how well do you know your neighbor? Even your friends? How sure can you be that one of them isn’t planning the next bombing, or school massacre? It’s the ‘normal’ quiet ones that make the news with such a disaster the most often.

42000069

And checking out Son’s friend we get the next action scenes. Loved that.

42000070

42000071

Lucky twice in one day.” LOL Only Steve can keep his cool like that. 

42000073

42000074

Well, I’m sure, that was not who Steve expected to find.

42000075

42000076

Oh, believe me, you stupid little brat, you will be scared soon enough. When you start your lifetime plus prison time. I really wanted to smack some sense into her. 

42000077

Now they were tasked with the difficult part of the investigation, finding out who was backing the kids. Where they got the money and material from, and who showed them how to do all that stuff.

42000080

While Chin and Kono worked on all their connections and agencies, we were treated to some incredible scenes in the blue room. Kudos to both actors; all the scenes with these two in the blue room were amazing.

Of course, something like that gets to everyone, but I think somewhat more to Steve. With him being there, traveling those roads, being in that kind of danger. He knows what that really means a little better than the others.

42000095

42000096

42000094

I really liked how they found out about the prints on the second bomb that didn’t detonate. The explanation that it wasn’t processed because there were no casualties involved seems logical to me. I bet there is a lot of stuff on the back log.

42000097

I loved how they made the arrests, and how they showed the shocked bystanders. Those people will be even more shocked when the whole story will be revealed and they learn about their kid’s teachers history. That is really a great part of this episode. Anybody could be your next door terrorist. Or the one who uncovers just that. 

42000098

42000099

You know, without diminishing any part of this episode, but these two in the blue room were the highlight of the episode. That was such beauty and brilliance. Beautiful lighting, camera, and amazing acting.

It was such a nice touch to go and deliver the news to the injured soldier in person. That was the least they could do for him. I loved that. And what I really liked was Danny’s epiphany that he should stop complaining about his little shit. I really liked that. Being there and seeing all that I think Danny thought about a lot of things, not just about how insignificant his ‘hardship’ was, but also about that his buddy could have ended up like one of those men. I think that visit was kind of an eye opener for Danny. At least I hope so.

We’ll see when he starts complaining about the little things again. 😉

Oh, and on a completely fan-girl note. Can we please dress Steve in those pants all the time from now on? 🙂

I thought that was a great ending to the episode until I realized there were still a few minutes to go. And what a delight those minutes were. 

I absolutely loved Grover’s fish story, and I would pay good money to see that fish-out between Steve and Grover. But my money would be on Steve for sure. 🙂

42000149

So, now what is left is my verdict.

This was just awesome. Like in the 4.01 awesome category. I LOVED it. I don’t even have anything to complain about. And I don’t know how it could have been any better.

Sure Cath could have been there, but I only missed her at the end, if I’m honest. Not during the case.

I loved Chin and Steve working together, I LOVED all the Grover scenes, with Chin and with Steve. I L.O.V.E.D. the scenes in the blue room. Just wow.

I didn’t even mind Danny. Mostly because he was hardly in it, I guess. But seriously I really liked why he wasn’t in it. That is how it should be, actions should have consequences, and with his injuries he was only fit for light duty, probably even only part time. So that was perfectly OK.

I was even OK with Cath being on the mainland because they acknowledged it, and didn’t ignore an absence like they normally did.

So, I loved this episode all around. Perfect.

420 5-badges

All screen-shots were done by me. Credit for promo pics to CBS and Global. The images used in this post are presented under the Fair Use Policy. The use of this material is intended for non-profit, entertainment purposes only. No copyright infringement is intended.

And please remember, I don’t write reviews with the claim to be objective. This is how I perceived this episode. If you disagree… that is just fine. I don’t claim in any way that my opinion is the right and only one. This is supposed to be fun, so, don’t take any of this too seriously.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Checks Five-0h 4.20

  1. So…. I get the feeling you liked it. 🙂 I gave it a friggin’ awesome too. Agreed with all you said but I admit to getting tired of dannys continual rants. Hopefully you are right and he will keep quieter in the future. But I’m not holding my breath.

    All the scenes about the fish were priceless. I loved all that.

    Like

  2. I survived 9/11 and I ran for my life so this episode struck a very personal chord with me. There was enough light-hearted banter to ease the seriousness of the episode. Jeff did an excellent job directing, the writing was good but Alex’s acting was amazing. From the BAMF SEAL, to the confused citizen, to the comrade in arms. I was moved to tears by the hospital scene with the vet. Even the young woman portraying the radical did an excellent job. Kudos to all.

    Like

  3. I gave it a “Good” because I just wasn’t paying attention to what was going on. Yes, I’m sure that’s some sort of failing on my part, but I just wasn’t engaged in the crime of the week. I did sit up and notice how great the interrogation scenes in the blue room were, and how SEAL Steve came into play with the connection to the bomb-making and the homegrown terrorism… oh, and I loved the Fish-Off.

    Like

    • Good is good, Kim. 😉

      I thought there was a lot to love in this episode. There was also a lot I could have pointed out, but those were petty things I didn’t think important enough to even mention it. Some would have been repetitive anyway, if you know what I mean. 😉
      I truly loved this one, mostly because we could spend so much time with Steve. For me he carries this show, without him it is just nothing. Alex has a presence on screen as McG that none of the others even come close to. Such a powerful person, I was in awe of him. I admit it. 🙂

      Like

      • It’s funny, I watched, and thought… “Meh, not a great one” and then I voted on the episode here, and then I read your review and I agreed with all of the great things you listed, LOL. All of those things WERE GREAT! And seeing so much Steve – always a plus! I don’t know – I just wasn’t enthralled. Nothing I hated really… just, Okay!

        Like

      • Oh, and Alex commands the screen. Without a doubt. He was phenomenal in this one. He’s really “Got” the character now. I love it.

        Like

  4. Just friggin’ awesome.
    Alex O’Loughlin.
    Just friggin’ awesome.
    Show would be nothing without him. The blue room scenes were outstanding. Intense! And his reaction to the scenes from Afghanistan cut me to the quick. I love Kimphins “he commands the screen”!!! THAT!
    And his goofiness and the way he delivers his funny lines cracks me up everytime. So many layers and all portrayed brilliantly.

    And Danny? Well, I still wouldn’t *like* him on FB. Steve’s so right, he has the propensity to blow up relationships.
    And Grover? Well, I would *like* him on FB. What a great, funny and supporting new friend. Steve knows how to build relationships. Isn’t that an amazing character trait for a guy who lost so much in his life and was betrayed a lot of times?

    Love. This. Episode.
    Period.

    Like

  5. I think I am in the mood to watch this awesome episode again.
    “They’re phrases that have been cherry-picked from a Holy Book and tailored to fit the lies they told you.” (Steve McGarrett)

    Like

Leave a Reply

