Do you like to speculate?

H50-511-001

I have to confess, I love doing that.

You can either read the original article here or down below with my speculations/comments about it. 😉

Hawaii Five-0 may have ended its fall run without a cliffhanger, but the second half of the season will kick off in a big way when Danny (Scott Caan) and Chin Ho (Daniel Dae Kim) are finally forced to face the consequences of their actions after attempting to save Danny’s brother (Dane Cook) by borrowing money from Chin’s ex-con brother-in-law (Christopher Sean). To find out what the team will be facing, EW turned to executive producer Peter Lenkov, who also teases a plethora of incoming guest stars and the future of the CBS series.

EW: What can you tease for what mystery you’re setting up for the second half of the season?
PETER LENKOV: I don’t know if you saw that arc at the beginning of the season with Danny’s brother being taken. There’s going to be consequences coming back for that. The big deal is Chin Ho borrowed money from his ex-brother-in-law to help Danny pay this ransom. They went down to South America to pay that ransom. It turns out Danny’s brother was actually dead. All that’s going to come back and there’s going to be a price to be paid for everything that happened in South America and everything that happened with Chin and his ex-brother-in-law. There’s an arc building to that where we’re trying to really milk that story, and make that a big deal, and there’s repercussions there.

Robert Knepper, I don’t know if you saw the episode last year, with Chin Ho when I.A. was investigating him, but Robert Knepper was investigating him. So this all culminates in episode 518. Robert Knepper is back and Terry O’Quinn is back. There’s a big McGarrett/Terry O’Quinn story coming up. It’s going to pay off everything we did in the first half of the season with regards to that arc. Danny and Chin really bent the law there, and they’re not going to get away with it.

So, there will be repercussions for Danny and Chin? Well, could that mean they both will be seen even less on Five-0? I mean it is no secret that SC doesn’t want to be full time on the show. Wouldn’t it be convinient if he actually would be suspended? But would it even be possible to come back from a suspension for illegal actions?

Anyway, DDK also has some hot things going. At least according to a post on his instagram account. Wonder if he won’t be on Five-0 as much/little as he’s now.

DDK


What’s coming up for Steve (Alex O’Loughlin)?
First of all, I think the most important thing for him is getting over the whole thing with Wo Fat (Mark Dacascos), what happened in the 100th episode, and getting some final closure from Joe White (Terry O’Quinn). I think Steve still doesn’t trust him, and I think that’s still very evident in the first episode they’re in together, so it’s finally just putting that completely to rest. The idea of finally getting rid of Wo Fat and finally putting that behind him was for McGarrett to move on. In order to move on, I think he also has to put to bed the stuff with his mom. I’m hoping by the end of the season that’s taken care of.

Ah, Mr. PL, it is funny that you say ‘finally’ so very often. You were the one who was dragging it out until the horse was really dead.

I guess if that storyline will be put to rest or not depends on if CL will be available or not? We’ll see. 😉


Will Steve and Ellie (Mirrah Foulkes) explore a romantic relationship?
They’re friends. I know people were saying there’s a potential love interest, but right now they’re just friends. I think they have a lot in common. They both lost parents, and I think there’s just a great friendship there. She becomes a real asset to the team, but no romance, at least not on the horizon.

Oh, really, stop with asking if Ellie will be a new LI. There is nothing there. I see her as a friend, and nothing more. And for once the show didn’t show anything else but that. I repeat myself, but I like her as a friend.

Steve loves Catherine, he will not fall for someone else. Not this season, and if I’m right, not in any other season since Cath will be back. Onscreen or offscreen, but they will get back together. I firmly believe that.


What role does Ellie play in the latter half of the season?
Just somebody who is a go-to person. McGarrett always relies on his contacts. Because she’s in the prosecuting attorney’s office, I think he’s got a good asset there and somebody he can count on for information even if he’s not really supposed to be asking for so many favors. It’s the same way we utilized Michelle Borth’s character at first. That was a fun run until Catherine ended up becoming a part of Five-0.

LOL – he already started using her for favors.


Speaking of Catherine, are we going to see her back?
I’m hoping. Our plan was always, yes, we want to have her come back, but I think when that happens, it’s going to be really special. We really want to do it in the right way. I’m a big fan of hers, so I’d really love to have her come back.

Uhm, I have my doubts about the ‘big-fan’ part, but I believe she will be back. Somehow, at some point. You’ll see.


Is there anything you can tease about Kono (Grace Park)?
We have a big episode coming up—which is 523—it’s a Kono mythology episode. You go back to her relationship with her mother and what she learned about survival in the ocean, how she learned how to surf. It’s a great story about survival. It’s a little like our version of 
All Is Lost, where Kono sets out to circumnavigate all the islands and she ends up catching a storm and she’s out there just with her paddle board and everybody is looking for her. While that happens, we have these great flashbacks to her growing up and learning about the ocean, respect for the ocean, and her relationship with her mother and father, who we’ve never seen before, they’re going to be in that episode. That’s a big mythology episode.

Yawn. Big time. Anyone remember Magnum? Sounds very much like the one episode Magnum was lost at see. That is an episode I have no interest in whatsoever.


What guest stars do you have coming up?
We have a lot of big guest stars. We have a big block of CSI: New York guest stars. We have Anna Belknap coming in an episode. Right after that, the next episode is A.J. Buckley, and right after that is Melina Kanakaredes. I’m getting to work with people that I really love and worked with in the past. JC Dekker, played by Xzibit, he’s back.Michael Imperioli is playing a character in a couple episodes, a sort of fun ex-New York transplant who’s become a surfer/confidential informant. Greg Grunberg’s back. Ian Anthony Dale’s back. Barkhad Abdi, I don’t know if you remember him from Captain Phillips. He’s in the show. He’s in an episode coming up, a big episode as well.

I love, LOVE JC Dekker. Really looking forward to seeing him again. And Greg Grunberg. I truly like Ian Anthony Dale, but Adam is so damn boring. Maybe he will finally show us his bad side again? Hopefully he will not be a blubbering hubby while Kono is missing out at sea. Ugh.


Who does he play?
He plays basically Kony, that African warlord who was in the news a few years ago. He plays a character like that hiding on the island here, and somebody discovers that he’s here. And our guys end up confronting him. It’s a big, big episode. We were so lucky to get him, and we wrote it with him in mind. We were able to get him to the island, and that was a big coup for us.

This sounds interesting. Could be an action packed fun episode.


Is there anything you can say about Rebecca Mader’s character?
I don’t want to give away, because if I give you what she’s doing it’s going to give away the story. How about Cloris Leachman? We have a great episode where our guys, McGarrett and Danny, are on a long-term stakeout. They move into this apartment together, and Cloris Leachman is a nosy neighbor who keeps popping by. When she finds out they’re cops, she wants them to help her investigate the person stealing her fern. It’s a really funny episode. There’s real stakes in it. There’s a real case in it, but it’s fun because it starts off with our guys back in therapy together. Now they’re cooped up together on a stakeout, and they’re living together. Those episodes are always really special, when those guys spend a lot of time together you learn more about them through their interactions.

I have no words for the ridiculous concept of Steve and Danny together in therapy. I find that insulting to the whole concept of therapy. Steve for sure needs that, but not with his idiot of a friend. Sorry, but hearing that makes me see red. Yes, even before I have seen the episode. Because, to me, that is not funny in any way.

Them being on stakeout however could be fun, IF Steve will finally tell Danny where he can shove his insults.

Rant over.


Will we see the return of Doris (Christine Lahti)?
It’s funny because we’re talking around her return. Terry O’Quinn’s coming back, and the two episodes that he’s in, there’s a lot of talk about moms. So far, she’s not planning to come back, but it’s on the books; we just haven’t set the date yet. I’ll tell you one thing—just to go back to Rebecca Mader. The episode that she’s in, it’s likeThe Thomas Crown Affair. She plays an insurance investigator. I’ll tell you that much. It’s a fun role. It’s a very fun, sexy role. She’s involved in this big, stolen artwork ring. She’s not a part of it, but that’s the story that it takes place in.


Are we going to see more of Dr. Shaw (Amanda Setton)?
We have a couple episodes that she’s scheduled to be in. We love her. It’s just a matter of scheduling, but we love her. We have this great episode that we’re building for her and Danny. A real episode where those two spend a lot of time together because there’s a little connection. They’re going to have some more scenes together in a really cool story coming up.

Uh, oh, an episode with lots of Danny in it. I can hardly wait.


What about Danno’s love life? I hear Amber’s (Lili Simmons) ex (David Hoflin) is going to come back into the picture?
That’s a story where we’re going to find out why she really left New York. She told Danny the reason she left New York in the first episode they met in. Turns out that that’s not really the case why she left. We’re going to meet her ex. Danny suffered this trauma with the discovery of his brother being murdered. He’s been avoiding any kind of relationship. He’s been carrying that pain around for so long. The episode that we have coming up with him and Amber, he hasn’t even been spending time with her and he’s finally coming back to the land of the living. They end up going away to spend some time together and that’s where the ex comes into the picture.

I heard it will be a very bloody episode where Steve has to save them both. Huh.


Do you have any upcoming episodes that call back to the original series?
No, we’re not doing that. We’re not doing any reboots of an episode. We’re really just trying to focus on telling some great stories. There’s a big Elvis convention because ofBlue Hawaii. It had such a big impact on the island here. We’re going to go to an Elvis convention in an episode. We have an episode coming up, this big diamond heist episode. That’s a two-parter that’s going to be actually separated. The first one is 517 and the second one is going to be 521. We’re just trying to tell very fun, unique to the island stories.


As you are writing the end of the season, are you looking at it as the end of the series or are you building up to a cliffhanger?
I’m hoping it’s not the end. If it is the end, I’ll write to the end, but I’m writing to a cliffhanger. My hope is that we come back and we get to tell more stories. Look, I think we’re doing a good job, even with audiences dwindling the way they are these days; we still have a very strong live audience. That’s always a good thing. In my mind, right now, the story that I’m building for the finale, which is very loose in my head, is a cliffhanger.

Can you say who is involved in the cliffhanger?
How about everybody? How about I tell you it affects everybody? I can’t say any more.

As I said before, and just discussed with Cokie this morning, I believe we will get seven seasons of Hawaii Five-0. The show is still a very good money-maker for the network. I don’t think they will end it after season 5.


Please remember, my comments are not based on any facts. I have no inside information whatsoever. Those just reflect my opinion and can be totally wrong. 😉

25 thoughts on “Do you like to speculate?

      • I’m not able to see the business point of view because that’s not my work, I only see the fangirl point of view hehe, and my point of view It’s quite clear about this, or show improves in every episode, in every plot, every week, or I’m going to need something new.

        Like

  1. Ops, I pressed the send button before end lol…
    Well, I think they whey will end it after season 5. I think that from the beginning of the season, and I’m now more convinced, and I really think is the best. The show is exhausting its opportunities. The writers could create wonderful stories, but seem unwilling to do it, so I think the best is that everyone continue with their lives. Personally, I’m eager to see Alex working on some really interesting and good project for him, a film if possible, and while he continues in the show, it’s clear that’s not going to happen. My speculation is that MB will return for the end of the season, (the end of the show imo), and then she and Steve are going to end up together. but of course that’s just my speculation. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • You know, I find it interesting that people always associate the end of Five-0 with Alex doing interesting and great things. Maybe that is not what is going tp happen at all. Maybe that is not even what he wants to do after five tough years. Maybe he takes a real loooooong break. Or does theater, or writes, or raises his kids. All things I think he would love, and if it would make him happy, I would be happy with that, too.
      But, honestly, TV is a business. And as long as the show makes more money than it costs… well, they all have longer contracts, the cost for a five year old show is not that high. And Five-0 makes good money. It’s as simple as that.
      There was a time that I believed it is about the quality point of view, or the point of art, or whatever you want to call it, but it is not. It’s a business. That’s all.
      From the artistic point, yes the show should end, maybe with Steve going back to active duty which he had to do after five years in the reserves in Real-Life anyway.
      But at this point, I don’t see that happen. And quite frankly, I still love the show, and especially Steve way too much to hope for that to happen. Selfish. Yes. But also realistic.

      Like

      • Oh, not necessarily! of course that can happen, he might even decide to leave his career and just enjoy his family. I’m ok with that. But as I said, in my fangirl point of view, I only wish the best for him professionally, and I think he will not find that in the show. I don’t feel love for the show anymore (and Alex was not the reason I started to watch H50, so you can imagine my disappointment is huge right now), so selfish, yes ;), but I really wish the show finish, because I no longer have fun watching H50. that’s all.

        Like

        • Oh, now wait a minute. It’s not nice to wish something to end just because one doesn’t enjoy it anymore. Others still do. If one doesn’t enjoy watching the show just stop watching. That is what I would do if I wouldn’t like it anymore. Then I would wait until it is over. But I would never wish for it to end if other people still love it. And there are obviously still millions of people who do enjoy it. AND, people will lose their job when it ends. Let’s never forget that many people have a job because of Five-0.
          But I guess what you really wanted to say was you wish to see him do something else, I just think your wording here is not the best to express that.
          Wishing something to end because you don’t enjoy it any longer, is surely not what you wanted to express. 🙂
          But, honestly, Silvia, if you don’t enjoy it, stop watching. I know you invest a lot of time and energy into your work. And I admire your talent and what you always give us with your non-reviews. But if you truly don’t like watching it, then stop.
          That goes for everyone actually. I wish people would simply stop saying they don’t enjoy what they are watching. If you don’t, watch something else. Watch a different show and come back being a fan of his work when he does something else. You can still be fan of his person. And you can still enjoy his off-work stuff. As a fan you don’t have to love everything one does. 😉

          Like

          • I could stop watching the show, that’s sure, but I’ll keep watching it, and the only reason I’m going to keep watching the show is Alex. He and my responsibility as editor of aolww. I don’t enjoy watching the show, but I enjoy watching Alex, despite the crap that he has to perform sometimes. I have the right to want the show ends, just like you are in your right to want the show to continue.
            I stopped talking about the show in twitter, blogs… a while ago just for this reason, because I don’t want to cause negativity with my opinion. and I try to do it too on aolww, although sometimes it’s difficult. It’s my way of expressing my displeasure.
            I’m glad that other people still enjoy the show, and if show continues, I’ll keep doing what I do, but that does not stop my wishes are what they are. And I think that’s all I have to say.

            Like

          • I respectfully disagree, Sam. I don’t like Keeping up with the KArdashians along with many other TV shows I wish would be cancelled, regardless that millions of peope apparently feel differently. But I get what you’re saying. You’re tired of people saying they don’t like show any more and it brings you down. Sad to say that’s true but people have been saying that for 4 yrs now. lol. I think the difference between what Silvia and many of the fans that frequent your blog and mine is that they say it respectfully and move on. It’s not like Silvia or anyone else among us are writing daily manifestos and posting it everywhere, we’re not out bashing the actors/actresses, we’re not out trying to ruin someone because we don’t like them. Having an opinion and knowing when and how to share it is completely different IMO. You wish Jerry wasn’t on the show, but I LOVE him, he’s one of the few things I actually like about show…but you balance it out with other things I love so I keep coming back.

            I don’t like where show has gone this season and I feel like I can say that without being too negative because I also still try to have fun and be positive about other things at the same time. IMO it’s all about balance.

            Liked by 1 person

      • Do we know for sure what the length of their contracts are? LAst year Alex said he had one more year on his contract and he would honor it. Since they were already filming the season, to me that can be interpreted as this season being the “one more season” or S6 being the “one more season”, either way that’s not a long time. If your main stars all want to do something else and move on, there isn’t a whole lot they can do except throw a lot of $$ at them or maybe adjust their time off, either way that keeps it from being the money maker needed to stay on air. Let’s face it, H50 has never been a HUGE hit and CBS is a hit maker, they can easily replace H50 with a new ‘hit’ series. I, for one though, think show may have one more year in it’s tank. Peter does make it seem like this is the last season but from a business perspective, I think CBS will end CSI and keep H50 for one more year. I can’t see them sending both to pasture in the same year and CSI has already had their season cut to make way for the new CSI: Cyber.

        As for Alex doing bigger and better things after H50, it’s a crap shoot. IMO, he’s going to do some great stuff and he’s going to do some real stinkers. That’s the nature of Hollywood. I believe he’ll try to work as soon as H50 ends, if not sooner. He has already said on more than one occasion last year that he wants to do something new sooner than later and he’s a smart man when it comes to the business so I think he will capitalize on his freedom as soon as he can. Who knows, maybe he can get in on a cable TV program that only has 10-12 episodes a year, cutting his working time in half. Again, just my opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to say, I love your comments more than the actual interview!
    I’m really hoping that the show will not end, But, I’m not really happy with where it goes. The last episodes didn’t really excite me so much!
    Anyways I’m anticipating to the new ones to come!
    About MB its not a secret that I love her character and the storyline of hers and Steve’s but I’m not sure if I believe that she’llbe back! I’m hoping it, that’s for sure.
    And of cource Happy New Year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read the article first, and a few things jumped out at me:
    1. When they mentioned “repercussions” the first person mentioned was Chin. Now maybe I’m just crazy, but shooting an unarmed guy (even if he is a sleazebag) in the face far surpasses the horror of going to your slimy bro-in-law for help when a friend needs it. We can argue long and often about Chin finally popping Delano when his gun was empty. Even so, Chin has more scruples than Danny ever had. And if your speculation that Chin’s screen time may decrease for various reasons is true, that’s going to make the show suck even more. Chin has been a powerful mainstay in the show, even if he’s not the lead character. I could deal with much less Danny or much less Kono, but with Chin that would be a mistake.

    2. I really, really like Terry O’Quinn. And I realize that many fans are glad the Wo Fat storyline is dead, but I think by doing so they really limited Mr. O’Quinn’s usefulness and sucked a lot of the mystique out of Steve’s character. I never liked Doris, but I don’t think there’s anything they can do to resolve that. What will she do? Finally come back and per chance actually shed a tear that her husband was killed because of her shenanigans? It’s way too late. And who cares if she was on any dangerous covert ops in the meantime? But more importantly, the one thing about this show that nailed me from the beginning was the storyline with Steve’s father. I don’t recall the actor’s name who plays his father, but when he has been brought back in from time to time, it has been awesome. By killing Wo Fat, the ill-advised Doris story and the show’s propensity to inexplicably drop things, we probably, as fall out, won’t see much of Steve’s Dad in flashbacks and that will also suck.

    3. PL doesn’t sound any too confident about the show’s survival past season 5. At least that was my instinctive reaction to the article.

    I didn’t read anything in the article that would cause me to change my mind about abandoning ship. I’m still heartsick at what a disaster the show has become. Such great potential–wasted.

    And the one character I always wished they’d brought back for a follow up episode was the guy in 1:06 (the SEAL suffering PTSD who took the hostages). I loved that character and really felt he could have come back to help Steve and Five-0 in a case down the road. Somewhere on a hard drive I started a story that utilizes him. If I ever get a life, I’m going to finish it. LOL!

    One last thought–I think it’s fine to speculate about what AOL might do after Five-0, ie. take time off, etc. And certainly he’s earned it. But I’ve seen too many actors who, let’s face it, bank on their physique. That physique is only going to last so many years before time and age take its toll. I don’t know him and I don’t know his thoughts on the subject, but if I were him I’d be looking to milk my career for all its worth in these early years, before the career dwindles due to a primarily aesthetic driven society, acting skill be damned.

    Brenda

    Like

    • I love your #1 – ACA (all caps agree)
      #2 – I think it was time and necessary for McG to kill WoFat. That whole capture/be captured/escape thing was getting old. I think his death could potentially open up some good stuff for McG IF the show goes there but it seems they are sadly, more interested in effects on Danny. *yawn*
      #3 That SEAL in 1.06 was Adam Beach (actor) and I agree, that was a great episode and would be cool to have him back around now that he’s hopefully gotten the help he needed and served his time for kidnapping, etc. Alex and Adam had great chemistry and I’d like to see them together again.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, episodes this season have not been stellar… but I still want more. Love your comments, Sam. Silvia, I hope something happens to make you enjoy it again.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ugh! That stoooopid story about them “living together” and having to go back to therapy could gag a dang maggot! The man has lived thru hell; let McG have therapy and let Danno go…just go…anywhere else! And they’re gonna delve into Danno’s trauma? Yeah he lost a brother. McG lost EveryDamnBody! Deal with THAT trauma, Show! Ack!

    I’m just not seeing enough McG centric anything to interest me much here. I am living off fanfiction this season already. I hope you girls got a lotta new stories in your quiver. Cause I think PLoser has tagged y’all and you’re “It”. Hee! :mrgreen:

    Liked by 2 people

    • WELL, that’s a scary thought. I don’t like to be ‘it’. 🙂 I agree… why is no one looking at Steve who has lost everybody? But they delve into Kono on a surfboard, Chin taking money from his brother in law (just how stupid of a move was that with the IA dept. watching his every move???) and Danny losing his brother. Let’s face it, how many thought Matt was a goner before Danny flew to the squalors of wherever he was? Wake up, man and use some brains!!! Seriously the writers need to work on some continuity, too… ok, that’s my rant!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Heh! It is almost like Chin borrowed that blood money just in order to create a new drama for himself… 🙄

        And since we had no “spoilers” that Dane Cook was coming back, yeah, I figured Matt was already sleeping with the fishes, or rolled in the barrel, as it were. 😉

        Like

  6. It would be the smart thing to do, keep Ellie as a helper to H50 and no more but I also believe Peter is a LLWL’s for good reason. He’s waffled on the LI thing all year. Even here he says “at least not on the horizon”. I don’t trust him. Nope. Not at all. At the very least, she was brought in as an ‘option’ in case other things don’t work out with MB. Yes, Steve loves Catherine and he SHOULD stay loyal and true to her but how many times this season have they written Steve OOC? It’s happening more all the time. Just because that’s our feelings on how the show should go doesn’t make it so. Sadly, lol! Sam, I would LOVE to be wrong about this but I just don’t trust him. He lost my trust last year when he did the 180 and then acted like we all imagined everything.

    Sounds like a whole lot of Danny coming up. *yawn* A big bloody episode with McG saving Danny and Amber? Ugh. Feels like they’re relying more on “big and bloody” to save the lack of real story telling.
    Less Chin would be tragic.
    Kono’s story *yawn*.
    I don’t know how there can be huge repercussions for Chin and Danny and not for Steve? Steve was an accomplice to Danny comitting murder. How can he not be held accountable for that too?
    Where are any spoilers about Lou? They have the tools to make this a fun show again but they’re not using them. Boo. We need McGrover!
    I have no comment on the therapy scene other than it pisses me off not only because it’s stupid and insulting for all the reasons you mentioned but also I LOVE Cloris Leachman and the stupid therapy scene has sucked the excitement out of the one episode that sounded fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ess, you really gotta stop holding back like that, tell us how you really feel.b LOLOLOL!!! 😆

      I kinda agree, babe. Nothing PL says should ever be taken as truth. And I really can’t forgive him for what he did last year. He led us all down a very clear path, both in what he said and in how the story clearly progressed. Then he pulled the 180 and acted offended that we were shocked and disappointed. I was one of the folks he suddenly blocked because of whom I had followed on Twitter. I could not care less about tweeting with the BigHeadedBoob, but it showed his innate smallness, and I was disappointed in him and for Show.

      Lenkov seems to have lost interest in the McG character this year. His resolution of Wo seemed more like a bum-rush job than a considered conclusion, and he’s sticking McG into a lotta the stories almost as an afterthought. Another unforgivable sin. Unforgivable!

      And yeah, so is the gratuitous “couples” therapy and the “whole lot of Danny”. It’s almost like he’s purposefully driving viewers away. I wish Nina Tassler would get ahold of him…or would allow me to. Or a selected contingent from among us, to represent. Bwahaha!

      Like

  7. I loved this show. But now? Not so much. Just by accident i know that it is on today. For me it says it all. It’s soooooo sad. I still love AOL and i hope the best for him. I guess since the beginning of S5 that this is the last and i don’t care much. Really boreing S5.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dear Writers,

    please let Danny deal with his “trauma” and “long carried pain” in Jersey. And please let him deal with it OFF screen. So much seems to happen there, but this time it would be a wise thing to do. And if he decides to stay in NJ, no problem with me. No problem at all.

    Dear Mr. Lenkov,

    we all know who’s your Neo. Trust me. We know. And we all know you only listen to a special group of clientele, but – trust me again – the majority of your viewers doesn’t care about any ship. They watch because of Mr. O’Loughlin and/or because they like your show. And they will be foreever grateful you chose Mr. O’Loughlin to play Steve McGarrett. Trust me a third time when I’m saying that he is the reason this show is still working. And the people connected to show.
    Yet this majority of people – they are not that loud, they are ‘just’ watching – gets more and more irritated. They are getting annoyed, they don’t get the ‘Danny is an amusing and funny great friend’ vibes. Au contraire! They enjoy every moment of show without him. That’s sad. But there’s a solution! Jump with joy now! You’ve got an amazing character, who has amazing chemistry with Mr. O’Loughlin. Chi McBride! He and Mr. O’Loughlin are terrific! Together they are surpassing every expectation. Steve and Lou are real friends, they are funny, they have mutual understanding and they are ADULTS! Even McDanno fans loved them in 4.08! That’s something, don’t you think? So use them! It will work, you’ll see! There is nothing to not love about these two. And both actors are in with all their heart, no phoning in, they are acting the shit out of their scenes. Together and alone! Again: Use the possibilities you’ve got! Lock yourself and your writers in a white room and watch all four seasons again and again. Remember what happened to your lead character since he was 16! Think again about trauma and pain!!!
    Let me end with my impression: Danny has gone the way of the homo erectus! He was replaced by a higher species!
    Thank you for listening.

    Liked by 5 people

  9. Hey, long -time lurker( and admirer) of your blog but first-time poster; I feel like I need to get some things off my chest:
    1) I read the interview and was a little confused about Steve’s storyline. Whatever happened to his big PTSD storyline? There were hints about in the beginning of the season and now it is not mentioned at all? Did they just decide to drop it altogether and instead shift the focus to Danny? Any clue?
    2) If the focus must be shifted why can’t it be to Chin’s story? Chin is an awesome character with great potential played by a terrific actor. Why can’t we delve into his pain – it’s much more interesting than Danny’s.
    3) Why can’t we get a Chin/ Steve- centered episode? These two are so awesome together and they have so much in common ( both lost significant others albeit in different circumstances and both lost fathers) and most importantly, like somebody above said, both are adults and behave like adults.
    Ok, that’s it from me .Rant over. Thank you for giving us a safe space to express our thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

