5.11 Review

FI-511

5.11 Ua’aihue

When a tourist is killed after unknowingly transporting a stolen Van Gogh, an undercover Kono and Chin enter the world of black market priceless art and are taken hostage. Also, McGarrett asks Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto to help train Kamekona to beat Chef Sam Choy in a shrimp cook-off.

Celebrity chefs Mahaharu Morimoto and Sam Choy guest star as themselves.

CBS translated Ua’aihue to Stolen

ThankYouBefore we come to the review let me tell you how much I appreciate all your comments and emails on last week’s ‘non-review’. It showed me that there is a lot of support for someone speaking her mind, even if it is one not always shared by many.

As I said I still have a lot of fun doing the reviews, and as many pointed out I should stay above any and all ‘assaults’. You are right; and I will try to do a better job doing that in the future.

And now, let’s get on with the show. πŸ˜‰


After last week’s good episode I was looking forward to this week’s. There were some promising scenes and spoilers in the promos.

Chin and Kono actually having something other to do than standing around the smart table. MCGROVER. πŸ˜‰ Willie Garson and Rebecca Mader. And a little side-story for Kamekona that sounded like fun.

511001

Is it just me, or do we get a lot more scenic scenes of Hawaii this season? I mean, it’s not really bad to look at, but at times it feels like a filler.

We start the episode with a happy family beginning their dream vacation. But it doesn’t take long before it turns into a nightmare. At least it looked like the dad wasn’t shot dead right away. Not many victims on Hawaii Five-0 get away that lucky. πŸ˜‰

H50-51107

From this we went to the next ‘crime scene’. Kamekona threatening to ‘kill’ his cousin Flippa. Thankfully McG came to interveen. Finally some scenes with Kame and Flippa I truly enjoyed. Normally I’m not a fan of these two. But here, for some reason, I was amused and interested in how this would end. And not to mention that McG was kinda cute. Of course, I’m sure McG would strongly disagree that he was any kind of cute. πŸ˜‰

One of the things I love about Five-0 is that even though they are the special task force, the show never forgets to show that solving the crime is always a team effort. I love it how many people are milling around and doing their job to help solving the crime.

H50-51118

OK, here comes my first mini-rant. Please, please get that creepy character transferred to another island, or something. I never met a character who got so very annoying and creepy as Pua. And quite frankly, who cares if he has a girlfriend or not? I for sure don’t. I would be so happy to never see him again.

H50-51120

Not that I’m complaining seeing Chin and Grover together, but I wonder if Steve would really take that much time to set up Kamekona with one of his friends. The timeframe felt a little odd.

H50-51121

So, after setting up Kame with Morimoto, Steve finally joins the investigation.

Well, I must say I’m totally with Steve here. First of all what does it say about your relationship with your partner if you keep something from him/her? And second, how was he even able to keep that from her for so long? What was he doing all day? And did she never check their account? This again was a way too easy way from the writers to keep the wife in the dark.

Grover might have a point that pride might get in the way of some things, but not like this. Not sharing something that important with your partner shows that you are not in a good partnership. And Steve not understanding that concept shows that he obviously acted differently in his relationship. Yeah, well, we all know how that one ended. πŸ˜‰

Now, this was really cute, and I loved Kono for doing this for the kid. Actually, I think this was one of the very rare occasions that I actually liked Kono. Imagine that. Liking Kono during almost the whole episode. Will wonders never cease? πŸ˜‰

H50-51134

Thanks to Kono’s selfless act they figured out who their supect was. A world famous art robber. Now it was getting really interesting.

H50-51135

One question on the side. What happened to Steve’s truck? See the difference?

So, let me get this straight. Here we have the Elite Task Force of Hawaii, and they work together with a woman who claims to be an investigator from an insurance company. And they believe her because she hands them a business card? Seriously? They don’t check her credentials before they make her part of the investigation? That is just ridiculous. And if that is how they work, I’m sorry, they don’t deserve the title elite of anything.

These are just ridiculous plot holes that should not happen. Sure, it’s easy to write a plot like that, but it also makes it totally unbelievable. When she got out of that plane and handed over the card, I was like ‘ask her for some ID’. I couldn’t believe they just accepted her like that. It was so obvious that she was not who she said she was. (I thought she was part of the robbery, to be honest. So, in the end her role was a nice surprise.)

And then I realized, the writers needed to bring in Jerry. Sure, he finds out she’s not who she is. Sorry, but I groaned out loud. And this time it was not because of Jerry, but because of the stupidity of this part of the story. They make their elite task force look like a bunch of cadets too stupid to check the people they work with.

And now we learn what that guy stole. Vincent Van Gogh’s ‘Vase with irises’. And not to worry, the original is still at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam. πŸ˜‰

A little brainstorming at the smart table gives them the idea how to proceed.

Yes, the boys and girls do clean up very nice. Even though I have to repeat myself. None of Five-0 could do any kind of undercover work. Not even this kind.

Just imagine you were into some high stake criminal activity. Like dealing with stolen art, or any dealings with that. Wouldn’t you research all the possible agencies you might have to deal with? Like the super police of the islands? Five-0? Come on, of course you would. Anyone would.

And it’s not like they are a big agency with hundreds of agents. They are just five people, of which all of them were in the press. They were even paraded on TV by the Governor himself, and they were on national TV. Kono is the girlfriend of a high ranking Yakuza business boss. Chin was in the news more than once. Not even to mention the head of Five-0 who had just recently been kidnapped and had killed a high class criminal. And Grover was also all over the news for being the new SWAT captain and losing that job after just a short while.

There is just no way any of them could do any kind of undercover work. Not if they were dealing with any criminal that had even a little class. And if you are sucessful in dealing with that kind of art, you do your homework.

So, from that angle all of this was ridiculous. But that didn’t take much of the fun out of it.

I truly enjoyed these two together. They had some great scenes. I wouldn’t mind seeing them again.

That was a bit too easy. But whatever. Now they got Hirsch on their side. Kind of.

H50-51167

So, after some more brainstorming, and a visit from Jerry, and confronting Nicole they go to the real undercover work.

One question. Jerry started out as this total anti-social-anti-tech-anti-anything-guy. But now he’s totally into sociallicing with everyone and a tech-geek. Guess they change the people as they need them. Guess after they decided to keep Jerry they needed to up his game so he was somewhat useful. He still really isn’t in my eyes, but that is another story.

Of course nothing goes quite as planned. The whole bunch of people is taken hostage including Chin and Kono. Thankfully the team has eyes and ears on them. Not for long though.

So, who of you thought, that something about all this was not quite right? I haven’t figured out then what it was, but something was up. And I knew that Nicole was still not honest with Steve.

ROFL – “Please hold for Steve McGarrett”. Finally something Jerry said that made me laugh. See, not all hope is lost.

Well, I guess Kono couldn’t tell Steve that at least two hostages had been shot, so nodding that the still alive hostages were OK was the only thing she could do.

I would have loved to see the new SWAT captain. It seemed that Lou still had a good relationship with those guys. He said HE has SWAT ready in a matter of minutes. So I guess they are working together well. I really liked that.

Unfortunately all their nice planning doesn’t help them when the bad guys figure out that they are on surveillance.

It was clear as day that the bad guys would not come out of that tunnel, but I wondered how they planned to escape.

Loved Grover’s β€œOh, I know that look.”

H50-511100

It took a little while to figure out the escape plan, but eventually they did. And of course none of the bad guys escaped. Well, Chin let Hirsch go, which I really liked.

And now we come to the moment I had waited for. I thought the whole time that something was still up with Nicole. I really liked and enjoyed what they came up with. I think it’s a perfect ending.

All the good guys won. Five-0 got their suspect for the attempted murder. The stolen painting was recovered and the reward paid. To, what I think, the right people. And Nicole also got her bounty money for returning all the other paintings.

A win/win on all accounts.

And finally, to end this episode on an even lighter note, we get the cook out. I absolutely loved it. Can we please have more casual team gatherings? Loved Grover’s laughter at Jerry’s question to get his badge. πŸ™‚ And can we please have Morimoto again on the show? Absolutely adore that guy.

I was a bit surprised that Kamekona actually won. But hey, as Chef Morimoto said, he was not gonna lose. Loved it how it was suddenly not Kamekona’s battle, but that ‘WE must to crush him’. LOL

Great scenes, fun ending to a fun show.

OK, before I give my verdict let me address something that was ignored on the show.

Where was Danny?

Honestly, as many of you can guess, I don’t care. But there was a lot of chatter about what is going on, so I would like to address it. PLEASE keep in mind that these are only my thoughts… MY opinion and I don’t want to argue the fact about who is right and who is wrong. It is an opinion. That being said, I have no inside information about how many episodes SC has contracted to do this season, but I truly hope he will not be in many more. Why? Because to be honest, I think the episodes without Danny are a lot better than the ones with him.

You can certainly disagree that point, but here is my reasoning. The episodes always feel smoother, calmer, make more sense. They are just better. It’s hard to explain, but Danny Williams has become a character I don’t need. In very small doses he is fine, but the way he is portrayed on the show… well, once in a while every few episodes is more than enough for me.

Honestly, if you are not a fan of SC, would you have missed the character in this episode? Because I didn’t see any scenes where I thought, β€œI wish Danny could have handled this”. That being said, I do completely understand that the fans miss the actor they love. That is a given.

I truly appreciate the actors on the show who are dedicated to what they have signed up to do. They back-up what they are involved in. Do they want to do other things? I’m sure they do. But they made a commitment. And they honor it.

Bottom line, everyone has to do what he or she thinks is best. If SC doesn’t want to be on the show, then so be it. I have no problem with it. I do have a problem with people saying how creative he is and in how many things he’s involved. That might be all true, but this show is one thing he signed up for, signed a contract for, but doesn’t seem to be invested in that much.

But back to the original question of where was Danny? I think it is not necessary to address the absence of a supporting character on the show. (Sorry, but that is what Danny feels to me lately.) Maybe he was on vacation, or had the flu, or whatever. These characters on the show are normal people. They need time off, they get sick, they take personal days. They can’t be on duty 24/7. And I don’t need to know all the time what each of them does during his or her off time.

And I guess the writers got tired of coming up with more stupid excuses to explain where he is. None of the explanations so far had been good, so I’m OK with not addressing it at all. Remember 4.05 when he came back from a cheerleading competition to be there for Cath and Steve, just to drive off with Joe and never come back after that? Instead of that type of scenario, I would prefer him not to be in an episode at all and not knowing what he’s doing.

So, that brings me to the general verdict of this episode.

Well, I certainly have lowered my standard this season. Except for 5.07, wich was simply exceptional, none of the episodes was really, truly awesome. Yes, there are many different shades of awesome, and I guess compared only to this season’s episodes this one was awesome.

It was a good, solid episode. One I really enjoyed. I loved Morimoto and Kamekona. Even Flippa was OK.

I kind of liked Jerry, even though the reasoning for him being there is still very, very weak. They make Five-0 look like total incompetent idiots, so they need Jerry to save the day. It was never my thing to let someone shine due to making someone else look stupid. Sigh.

But all in all, I really enjoyed this one. Please more of the same.

511-ranking


All screen-shots were done by me. Credit to CBS. The images used in this post are presented under the Fair Use Policy. The use of this material is intended for non-profit, entertainment purposes only. No copyright infringement is intended.

And please remember,Β I don’t write reviews with the claim to be objective. This is how I perceived this episode. If you disagree… that is just fine. I don’t claim in any way that my opinion is the right and only one. This is supposed to be fun, so, don’t take any of this too seriously. Always remember, this is just a TV show.

67 thoughts on “5.11 Review

  1. I’m so glad you decided to continue with the reviews. I was really hoping you would do one for this episode. I agree with much of your assessment. It was a solid episode and one of the better ones of the season. For me, it is probably my third favorite of season 5 behind #1. 5.07 and #2 5.05.

    I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the side story with Kamekona, I, like you, don’t care for Kamekona and Flippa, to me they just take up time that could be used elsewhere to improve the story. They are kind of useless characters that are there only for comic relief which most of the time isn’t really even comical. I would much rather see a few witty one liners from Steve or Grover than an entire seen of “comic relief” with these two. Morimoto was great, I am glad they got him back.

    Pua. Ugh. They need to get rid of him. And from what I have seen on twitter and other H50 forums that opinion is share by the majority. Willie Garson was great as Hirsch, I kept thinking of Mozzie form White Collar when I saw him on screen.

    Jerry didn’t irritate me as much as usual. He was somewhat relevant to the story tonight. I don’t necessarily see Jerry as anti-technology but he is someone that doesn’t trust telephones or means of communication that aren’t secure. And really, why would he? He is a conspiracy theorist who “knows” all the things that can be done to hack them since he things Big Brother is always watching/listening. I think that for him to be who he is, he would have to be familiar with modern technology, especially considering the amount of time he spent living in his mother’s basement.

    When I first read the synopsis of this episode and found out that Chin and Kono were going undercover I cringed. Five-0 is way too well known to do any sort of undercover work. They would have to hire people specifically for undercover work and keep them out of the press in order to do any sort of covert investigations. But again, it didn’t ruin the fun even if Chin and Kono undercover is impossible. I try not to let stuff like that bother me much.

    I honestly didn’t notice that Danny wasn’t in this ep until it was over. I didn’t miss him at all and I think the other four members filled in nicely for him. I also agree that I don’t need an explanation every week if someone is missing or has very little screen time. They didn’t address why Steve had so little screen time in the Christmas episode and he is the lead of the show. Why should the address the absence of a secondary character every time he misses an ep?

    All in all it was a solid episode that I gave a B. When i first saw the preview and read the the synopsis I really didn’t think I would enjoy it too much but I was pleasantly surprised.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I remember correctly they gave a reason for Steve’s absence. He was with the Governor in a meeting. Wonder what that was about since it took forever. At least long enough for one trip to Japan and back. πŸ˜‰

      About Jerry and technology. When he was introduced to us he used a typewriter to make a list for Steve. He didn’t have a computer or a phone and said he doesn’t get out. All his files were on paper; remember all the boxes they packed? And last episode he took computer lessons from a 12-year-old. πŸ™‚ So, no, I don’t think he was planned as this tech geek. But they suddenly had him on the show for more than one episode and had to change the character to make him somewhat useful. πŸ˜‰

      I can only completely agree on all points of your comment.

      Like

      • You are right, now that you said that I do remember Steve being in a meeting with the Governor. A meeting that lasted 2 days right before Christmas…they could have come up with something better. Regardless if they were to write excuses for why characters are missing they at least need to make up good excuses. I do somewhat recall that about Jerry but obviously I apparently haven’t paid too much attention to what is going on in the show lately. Poorly done episodes will do that to a person.

        I think the reason they brought Jerry on as a regular was because the fans liked him so much in the 2 episodes in season 4. Lenkov and the writers have a reputation for taking what fans really enjoy and running with it until they are beating a dead horse, much like the carguments and the McDanno bromance (I’m so over both by now). I think they just don’t know what to do with Jerry in every episode now. He is ok in very small doses, his 2 episodes in season 4 were really good and I enjoyed Jerry then but he just isn’t a character that can be relevant to every episode no matter how hard the writers try, much like Kamekona and Flippa. They should have kept Jerry as a guest star and had him back for 1 or 2 episodes a season.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I give this an A. Not an awesome but a nice solid A. Although there were lots of holes it was a good episode.

    Agree about officer pua. He has joined flippa in the overdone club.

    But I was happy with the show and agree with your comments.

    Like

  3. Still can’t bring myself to watch any more but if nothing else, I loved seeing the screen shot of the Five-0 team in the shrimp trunk T-shirts. That was Ohana. 😎 I’ve always liked Kamekona. I’m just indifferent to Flippa–I think mainly because one day he just showed up in the series, whereas Kamekona was introduced and built into the show from the start.

    I’m sure Morimoto was great. Loved his appearance in the (1st season?) episode where he’s doing Karaoke to “Wonderful World”. 😎

    Like

  4. thank your for the review. You always find more holes than i do. when i read your review i end up chastising myself for not noticing… i also have never understood how the team can go undercover, but i’m glad for any reason to get McG in a suit! i never thought anything was up with the bounty hunter/investigator until she was getting on the plane at the end. I loved McG in the vault at the end and expected that note to be what it was.
    I did not miss Danny but did expect some reference to him. As far as absence of some of the cast throughout the season – could some of their absences be allowable due to the extended season?. Maybe contracts only cover the original number of episodes?
    I could take or leave Danny;s character, but would be concerned about what a major cast change would mean for the fate of the show. I absolutely love Grover and his growing relationship with Steve. There is witty banter and a little ribbing, but also a maturity to their interaction.
    I rated this one Good. I would consider it somewhere between “good” and “awesome”. I reserve the highest ratings for episodes such as 5.07 or 4.21. I would probably put 5.01 pretty close. The last two episodes have satisfied me. Hopefully H50 will continue on this track and we can forget about some of those pre Christmas episodes.

    Like

    • Totally understand to want to not put this one into the same category as 5.07 or some of the other really great episodes over the years. But as I said there are many shades of awesome, and I think this one was a little better than good, but a looooong way from truly awesome.
      Besides, good is good. πŸ™‚
      No idea how their contracts work, but I know the regulars have a certain number of episodes, but I guess the main cast should be there for the whole season.

      Like

  5. I think I am the only one not to have enjoyed the scenes with Morimoto and Kamekona. The Iron Chef looks too stiff in his scenes. I liked him better in S1, but thinking about it, I feel it was just uber pretty Steve with his hand in cast and bruised face and lovely light grey t that stole my attention πŸ˜‰
    The plot was very nice in comparison to their usual crime cases. And SteveΒ΄s shirtΒ΄s blue matched the irises in the painting so nicely (in the vault scene) πŸ˜€
    This epi restored a bit of my faith for the rest of the season.

    Like

    • Really? I thought he did his job quite well. πŸ™‚
      Oh yeah, that episode in season 1. That was something to enjoy. Poor Steve.
      I also have hope that this trend will continue, that we will get some good episodes.

      Like

  6. I honestly did not notice that SC was missing until I saw something on Twitter. I think it makes a little more sense when they don’t explain where everyone is at all times.

    I liked Danny as a character at the beginning. I enjoyed the relationship between Danny and Steve. The banter and everything was great. But then it felt like they had to include a “cargument” in every episode and the banter got to be more mean, than playful. Routinely mean, Not a one off mean when some one was really stressed. That happens. But too mean for people who like each other.

    If SC doesn’t want to be on the show than I hope they write him out. If they do, I’d like them to start writing the character like such a jerk.

    Liked by 3 people

    • That is exactly my problem. Danny is not playful anymore, he’s only mean. Nasty and hurtful. Sure you can be like that from time to time, no problem, but that’s all he is. And that is a shame. He just has become a person I wouldn’t want to be around.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly. I’d fine if one or both of them crossed that line on occasion and apologized for being a jerk. That’s how brothers behave. But in trying to create constant batter they’ve gone too far.

        We’ll never know but I would love to know how the actors really see this. Do they not see it the way we do because of context? Do they see the characters differently? Everyone I’d believe is too professional to spill but I’d love to be able to read minds.

        Like

        • I think you hit the nail right on the head. I think the writers saw how good the chemistry between the two was in early season 1 and from then on felt compelled to include a banter scene in every episode and then ran out of material which is why what was once fresh and funny is now repetitive and offensive.To me it seems that they always argue about the same thing and never seem to get anywhere – Steve driving Danny’s car, relationship issues, etc. It’s like going in circles; there is no development and it’s no longer funny.

          Like

      • That is exactly what I’m saying since day one, OK maybe day two. πŸ˜‰ Who in his right mind would want to hang out with Danny?
        If all those fans would put aside that they are a fan of the actor and could only focus on the character, and still say they would love to be friends with him… sorry, but I can hardly believe that.
        Working with him, OK, fine, but hanging out with him? Seeking him out during off time? For sure not.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. On the Danny thing–while he’s not my favorite character, I do find our different takes on him interesting. Frankly, I found Danny to be far more of a jerk in season 1 and felt he improved a bit after season 1 (not great but better). I also wonder if part of the reason for disliking Danny is that fans (at least so far as I have seen) appear to be female, and we approach relationships differently. Men interact quite a bit differently and probably blow off traded barbs quite easily, where women turn into drama queens. 😎 Not to say he still doesn’t act like a jerk, but it’s all in perspective.

    Of course apart from season 1, Danny’s all time worst moment was in rant in the gun owner’s shop (season 2 or 3 I think). That was rock bottom for him. Especially for a rant coming from a guy who shoots unarmed men in the face.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Well, different perspectives on the arguments are surely true, but even Steve called him out on the hurtful things he said to him.
      I never felt like Danny was a good friend to Steve. He’s a great work partner, but a lousy friend.
      All the times Danny was there for Steve were work related. On any emotional crisis Steve had, Danny belittled him, offended him and was downright mean and hurtful.
      I was done with Danny when he spoke with Steve about his mother in season 4, and then again in 4.22. That was the last straw and the first time Steve called him out on it.
      That is not how a friend acts. Not even men do that. πŸ˜‰
      And yes, you are right, men do trade barbs easily. But only to a degree. With Danny I always felt like he means what he’s saying to Steve. He has never shown any respect toward him. Not as a human being, a friend or an officer, or as his boss.
      Grover and Steve are ribbing each other also, but on a totally different level. There is no nastiness in it, there is no mean bone behind it.
      In my eyes, Danny is a nasty, mean human being. I just had a discussion if this Danny was what they had in mind when they created him. My argument was that PL doesn’t know the difference between a work partnership and a friendship. He just doesn’t get it.
      But as he’s portrayed I can’t see them as friends, and I have the feeling Steve doesn’t either that much anymore.
      BTW, the rant in the shop was in 3.15 Hookman. And you are right, another prime example what a person Danny is.
      Oh, and believe me, I’ve been called many things, but drama queen is not one of them. LOL

      Liked by 3 people

    • “we approach relationships differently. Men interact quite a bit differently and probably blow off traded barbs quite easily, where women turn into drama queens.” I thought about that myself. I’ve actually asked a few guys who (used to) watch the show what they thought. I asked them if they would be friends with Danny and the consensus was “NO”. They could get along professionally and do their job as they have to but he would not be someone they would choose to hang out with one on one.

      Which also brings the point, if this is a relationship type that guys like…where are all the male viewers?? #justsayin

      Like

      • “Which also brings the point, if this is a relationship type that guys like…where are all the male viewers??”

        I would not bank on this as the criteria alone as in most fandoms, the ones who are active and reply are female, for any show I’ve watched. Although you and another person here have mentioned you’ve quizzed men on this subject and they don’t feel they could be friends with Danny.

        Like

        • Oh no, I certainly don’t bank on it being the definitive criteria but I can tell you that I don’t know any men who watch the show anymore (except for my hubs who only watches because of me) so I’m just saying if this is a true feel of how male relationships are then I think they’d have a higher male viewership. It’s just an opinion.

          Like

  8. I enjoyed the epi, it was a fun epi and Steve was allowed to be Steve again. It had the right amount of intrigue (and some pretty good music too) to hold my interest. I loved the Thomas Crown Affair feel to it and Mozzie kept up the White Collar feel. I did enjoy Chin and Kono undercover, they clean up so nicely. It was great touch on the writers part to channel Vincent’s glasses for Chin. And we finally got some much needed McGrover time – they really do work well together. Completely agree, it’s time for Pua to go – his creep factor is off the charts, he makes my skin crawl! I didn’t miss Danny (he was at his book signing if anyone cares) at all. It was a snark and sarcasm free episode and I felt the cast had a lot of fun doing it without him. The bromance is over, has been for a long while for me (I had an interesting discussion w/one of the writers over “Danno” and we agreed to disagree over the amount of nasty and mean for him.) All-in-all,I liked it a lot and am hoping that next weeks new episode maintains the same amount of good writing and good acting.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. So glad to see you back in form, Sam! And so glad to see Show back in form! I gave it a CokieA…not awesome but better than good. πŸ˜‰

    As to Pua/Flippa, we all agree. My theory is they are just random males thrown a job to doubly emphasize that this is a testosterony set, all men all the time, dogs and women not allowed. Oh! I err. Dogs are most welcome. It’s just women excluded from working on this show. Grrrrr!

    But onto the good stuff! I’m one who LOVED Morimoto! NHe is my favorite Iron Chef, and I betcha most of y’all don’t even have a favorite Iron Chef! πŸ˜† Plus I love that he seems to have a personal relationship with Alex. So cute together! Just gives me warm fuzzy feels. πŸ˜€

    Also loved “Mozzie”, who essentially played Mozzie, and Rebecca Mader, whose chemistry with Alex was smokin’, IMO. Her character was delightful and oh so McG-ish. Like him, she clearly sees the legal code as more suggested guidelines…I think he kinda respected that. It certainly made him smile. And she showed the same kinda heart…she gave up the VanGogh to right the shooter’s wrong and the daddy’s bad luck. Total McG move. I’d love to see her back. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • “dogs and women not allowed” oh but they have allowed some random unnecessary women in. Elile and the MD chick…and I really like the MD chick. But let’s face it, there is no need for them and they don’t fill a role that couldn’t have been filled by any other character already on show.

      That said, Steve should get a dog!! That could be his new companion! Who wouldn’t melt over Steve spending time with his new puppy?? Awwww… Dammit, now I really want Steve to have a dog.

      Like

      • NO! Please no dog. I LOVE dogs, but I would get really mad if Steve would be so selfish and get a dog with his work schedule. NO DOG! LOL

        You’re right, there was no need for either of the new women. But honestly, it could have been worse. πŸ˜‰

        Like

  10. Yeeeehaaaa!
    You’re back! LeiCa appreciates! Much!
    After watching this episode I immediately thought: Now this is one epi to bring back Sam’s reviews! The source of all the nastiness is nowhere to see. πŸ˜‰
    But I appreciate it even more that you didn’t take the easy way out with just reviewing the epi, but you made your opinion about the subject clear. And it’s your right to do so!
    I have a strong opinion too, I have a problem with people who work with a team, benefit from it, but show no commitment, are no team players. That’s not the way it works.
    Now about the episode.
    I love love LOVE it! If we get such an interesting, exciting episode full of twist and turns, full of humor and fun, with ADULT conversations (McGrover!), without any insensitivities, I am willing to forget the plot holes. No episode is perfect, but if you show me something like this it is ok.
    So, my verdict:

    No Danny: CHECK.
    A little bit of McKono: CHECK. (Don’t begrudge it to me, I had a dry spell for years… πŸ˜‰ )
    Mischievous Steve (to Kono, he he): CHECK.
    Eye candy: CHECK.
    McGrover: CHECK. (I said it last week and I will say it again: D and the homo erectus share the same fate. Both were replaced by higher species. :-D)
    Jerry always prepared: CHECK. (I just love him…)
    Suit!Steve: CHECK.
    Some Steve swagger: CHECK.
    Smart Steve: CHECK.
    Funny Steve: CHECK.
    Caring Steve: CHECK.
    Good friend!Steve: CHECK.
    Smiling Steve: CHECK.
    Good Samaritan!Steve: Check.
    Check. Check. Check.
    You get the picture?
    Shrimpapalooza, “We must crush him”, “don’t kill him”, “mess him up a bit”, “cooking is combat”, the eye of the tiger -> I think I never laughed so much while watching 50! And Alex/Steve handled both storylines very well. Team leader and supporting friend. (loved Alex’s handshake with his wedding cook πŸ˜‰ )
    Now my voting, hm, that is tough. I can’t give it an A because of 5.07. But it’s better than good. Ah what the heck, for crappy season 5 it IS awesome. And 5.07 is simply an outstanding episode that needs a category of it’s own.

    Someone above said that men see sometimes relationships differently. That’s for sure. But I think even men can only take that much. Yesterday I had a little conversation with hubby while walking with our doggie. Hubby wanted to know if the new epi was good (he had no time to watch). He asked: Is there really someone left out there who likes this Danny character? Me: Yes, sure. He stopped and looked at me with disbelief: You are kidding me? Seriously????
    I married the right one didn’t I? ❀

    I am glad your back Sam!

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Glad you’re back! And now that you are, it’s time for me to agree and then agree to disagree. πŸ˜‰

    The people who normally annoy me, Kamekona and Pua I thought were actually used just right this week. I enjoyed the scenes with all of them. Yes, even Pua.

    Sam you find a lot more plot holes than I care to even notice. lol. I just don’t watch the episodes that deeply. Maybe in one of the episodes that effect the overall arc of the show or a particular character but in a regular episode like this, nah. I know H50 is going to be full of plot holes so I just don’t let it bother me. *at least thats my feeling this week lol*

    I thought the Kamekona and Morimoto story would feel forced but it felt just right. I enjoyed that little bit of look back into Kame’s past, even if I did scratch my head a little considering he ran shave ice before he got into the shrimp…but I digress. (ps…I love the shave ice stand more than I’ve ever liked the shrimp truck…dunno why, I just do)

    There wasn’t enough Willie Garson to scratch that itch for me but I’m hoping he’ll return. I have a need to see him interact with Alex. *NEED*

    I also thought it was a wee bit OTT in it’s pushing of Hawaii at the beginning but then it thought it fit in with the family who had a long desire (a whole year since they’d seen it on a TV show *cough*) to visit the islands. So it kind of fit in with that.

    I thought the scene with Kono taking the selfie with the boy was stupid and unnecessary. It’s not like she is a celebrity on the show. What’s the boy going to say, hey i took a pic with this woman in HI? sorry, but that gets him no real street cred unless she was topless or something. lol.

    I thought Jerry was used perfectly and I loved every second of it. Especially the moments with Steve. Jerry and Steve are always a win/win to me no matter what the emotion or angle they’re trying to use. They have great chemisty and I like the side of Steve that shows himself around Jerry.

    It seeing Steve have work a case with an adult and in an adult, grown up fashion with Grover. Which brings me to your Danny rant in which i can only say: Amen. ACA every single word.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh one last thing, your comment about them adapting Jerry. It could be what they did with Max. They started out trying to make Max this “savant” but he’s nothing like that now. They muted him into just being kinda wierd…and picks fights with Danny. lol.(which I still can’t figure out why other than he’s the smart one)

      Like

    • There is really not much to disagree in your comment. Except creepy-Pua. πŸ˜‰

      I guess they will shape characters as they go along. Maybe they didn’t even have any plan for Jerry, so they had to adapt him. But I think they went a little too far from what he was when he was introduced to us. On the other hand I don’t really mind. It’s just something that was especially obvious in this episode.

      LOL – I don’t go looking for any plot holes, they jump out on their own. πŸ™‚

      I wonder what happened to his shave-ice business. He should have given that to Flippa.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sam, so happy to have you back!
    I always loved your reviews and yes, even you being snarky. Sometimes I didn’t agree – but we always agree that disagreeing once in a while is good. Freedom of speech πŸ™‚

    Thank you for your review. Pretty much spot on. But the crown takes leiCa – I was laughing so hard reading your “checklist” – I’m right there with you hun!! πŸ™‚

    I loved this epi! Yes, I dare say love! I didn’t have any expectations, but admit I was looking forward to it. What I got was a fresh, fun, different episode, definitely high up in the ranks. The potholes you discovered didn’t bother me this time. I was well entertained, I laughed, I got yummy McG and great McGrover, an awesome Iron Chef and so much more goodness. Not an absolut awesome epi (well, after 5.07 that will be difficult to reach again), but Sam’s A- works just fine for me.

    The ratings were also great and that made me very happy for the team who work so hard for it (well, most of them…). I really hope -in contrast to some others- that we will get another 2 seasons. The actors signed on, they (again, most of them) love it, the show employs 200+ people locally and most of us still feel entertained on a high level. Not many other shows can hold my interest in their 5th season.
    And sorry, those not interested anymore, please don’t tell us that you wish the show to end or criticize and condemn without watching at all. That is not cool.
    Yes, I rant as well and sometimes I’m disappointed, but overall I am still happy to have 5-0 around and enjoy it.

    Here’s to more of Sam’s reviews and hopefully great episodes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you, even though I rant a lot about what’s going on in some of the episodes, I still love the show very much.
      About people wishing for the show to end, well, most of them do that because they want to see their favorite actor doing something else. On some level I can understand that, but I still don’t think that is cool. There is a lot more to consider on a show, not just my personal feelings. Even though I often lost interest in watching a show, or fell out of love for it, I never wished something to end that so many others still loved and gave so many a good job. I would feel selfish wanting to take that away from them.
      What I can understand is wishing for someone doing something else, but still I wouldn’t wish for a show to be cancelled. I wish for them to go to the end of their show, either from a story point of view or because their contract runs out. But I would never wish ‘my star’s’ show got cancelled. I would feel really bad if that would happen to Alex again. Even after five seasons that can’t be a good feeling.

      Like

  13. first-time poster here but long time lurker.I guess this is a pretty unpopular opinion but my main problem is that I cannot seriously see Steve as Grover’s boss.Even in this episode, which I did like very much, Grover seemed to be the one calling the shots, preping SWAT, etc. while Steve was simply nodding along in the background. This is the thing that has been bothering me for pretty much the entire season so far- Steve is no longer the team leader he was in but rather blends in the background and is constantly outshone by Danny, Kono or Grover- the scene in episode 4 where he bellowed for help comes to mind- I don’t think Season 1 Steve would have done that. I thought maybe they are sowing the seeds for his PTSD storyline but am really interested to get other people’s take on it.

    Like

    • Welcome. Glad you came out to share your opinion.
      Well, I can’t see it like you do. A good team leader integrates the team, listens to their suggestions, but still calls the shots. He doesn’t have to be in the foreground all the time, but he commands every scene, in my opinion. Best example was the first art show, I think everyone could see who was in charge.
      And Grover prepping SWAT, well that was his job for a long time, I’m sure he still has good contacts to them. What Steve is doing is delegating the jobs. And I think he does a great job with that.
      About him calling for help; I actually loved that. Even someone like him does need help at times, I like that they showing more of the ‘team effort’ this season. But that scene was mostly for the storyline, so that the converted bad guy could do another good deed. πŸ˜‰
      Quite frankly, it would be cool if your idea about Steve slightly slipping in leading his team, but honestly, the writers are not that good or subtle.
      And I really had to laugh at your Danny and Kono outshining Steve. That actually made me snort with laughter. I’m sorry, but that I can’t see at all. πŸ™‚
      I hope you will keep sharing your thoughts with us. It’s always interesting to hear what others think.

      Like

      • It’s really fascinating that we all watch the same show yet we all see things in a different light. I’ll admit I can see your point about Steve and Grover and I guess that’s what the writers were going for.
        Re : episode 4 even if it was a good scene, I still found it out of character and it left me wondering whether the writers were sacrificing characterization for one nice scene ( as they do) or if they were actually trying to build a story. At this point, I ‘d rather it be the former because I think PTSD is something that needs to be treated with utmost respect and sensitivity and I don’t think that’s going to happen here.
        After all we have more important things like the new ME and Kono lost at sea and Danny’s girlfriend drama to worry about ( sarcasm).
        By the way, thanks for giving us the opportunity to express our opinions ; you seem to be one of few people who doesn’t see Danny as the best character to ever grace a TV show.

        Like

        • ROFL – No, I’m actually on the opposite side of that scale concerning Danny. πŸ™‚

          I completely agree with you that they screwed up completely in regard of the PTSD story. I don’t think they can still save grace with that one.

          And they sure sacrifice the one or other character if it fits the story. Just thinking about the Christmas episode makes me sick. Sigh.

          Did you really have to remind us of those ‘important’ story-lines to come? πŸ˜‰ LOL

          Like

          • Also, let’s not forget the entire episode revolving around Danny’s brother drama and my personal favourite – more therapy scenes from which I am sure that Danny would emerge as the all-suffering hero Tortured by a rash,thick- headed partner. As you might be able to tell, he is not exactly my favourite character. That being said, the actors did say that they had a lot of fun with the therapy scene and with the McDanno bromance scenes in general so I guess i’ll suffer through while muttering snarky comments and coming here to vent.

            Like

            • LOL – you’re more than welcome to come here to vent and rant.

              I’m not so sure Alex said that in all earnest when he said they had fun and they should do it all the time. I felt like he was kind of sarcastic about it. But hey, what do I know.
              I just wish they wouldn’t use the therapy as a comic relief, that is just wrong.

              Liked by 1 person

              • I feel like I am hijacking your thread but I guess I have a lot of ranting to catch up on.
                I won’t have trouble with the McDanno therapy scene if at the end of the episode Steve goes to the therapist alone and has a heartfelt conversation with her. You know what, I am not even that picky – it doesn’t even have to be a long scene and it doesn’t even have to involve a therapist -I’ll take 2 min of him talking to Chin or Kono or Grover or even Grover’s wife for all I care as long as it’s genuine and shows that this guy’s been through hell and is feeling the emotion repercussions of that. If they give me that, they can have all the Danny-Amber drama they want and I won’t say a word.
                I get that this is an ensemble show and not all story lines could nor should they revolve around Steve; I would love nothing more than to see a compelling logical storyline revolving around Chin ( DDK deserves it ) . But I do think that we deserve to know what’s going on in the main character’s head.

                Liked by 3 people

                • I couldn’t agree more. Well, OK, he wouldn’t open up to Kono. LOL

                  Hey, and this blog is always open for discussions like this. Or ranting like this. Every opinion is welcomed here as long as it is said in a friendly and respectful manner. And you are doing great in that regard.

                  Like

                  • I think at this point I’ll even take Steve having a heart to heart with Mr. hoppy, the rabbit Stan gave Grace in the pilot, at least it would be something…

                    Liked by 1 person

                  • by the way, completely off topic (apologies!) but i was reading something yesterday and it said that Steve’s SEAL team had been revealed to be team Three and that he had discussed the origins his nickname Smooth Dog with Danny as well as that when he first asked Cath out she laughed at him. Since I am pretty certain that these things have never been revealed in the show itself I was wondering whether they were ever featured in Deleted Scenes ( I have never seen them ) or in episode commentaries or whether they were just figments of somebody’s imagination and I figured this would be the best place to ask. Again sorry for veering off topic (I promise it won’t happen again).

                    Like

  14. Hi Monday,
    I think we should start a new comment here. πŸ˜‰
    No problem to get off topic. I never heard or saw any of those things. Steve kept it a secret how he got his name, and he never discussed his relationship with Danny. Not on the show and not in deleted scenes. As far as I know his team also was never revealed, besides a SEAL often gets assigned to different teams during his time.
    Unfortunately it is often the case that people throw information out there that they got from fanfiction or other questionable sources. But as long as it wasn’t on the show, or at least in deleted scenes, it doesn’t belong in the ‘real’ H50 universe.
    So, no, I haven’t heard any of those things to be true.

    Like

    • I am pretty sure too that Steve never talked about the origin of his nickname and he never told Danny about his first meeting with Cath. Neither on show nor in the deleted scenes. I think that’s wishful thinking from some people or mixing fanfiction with what actually happened.
      But I think you can read “SEAL TEAM 3” on one of his blue navy t-shirts he wears to sleep. Hmmm… No it’s no shameless excuse to watch Steve’s bed scenes again lol… Just research…

      Like

      • That could be that is was on a tee. But I only remember the UDT/SEAL shirt and the SEAL Coronado shirt. I don’t remember him wearing one with a SEAL-team number on it. Besides, they are kind of secretive about the teams.
        OH, maybe it was revealed in the 2.03 when members of SEAL team 9 were killed? Danny had a file about operation “Strawberry Fields” in his hands. Maybe there was something about the teams?
        But as I said, a SEAL is not with just one team. They rotate.
        Oh, yes, what we do in the name of research. πŸ˜‰

        Like

        • There were pictures of McGarrett’s office that a reporter had taken when she was onset interviewing the cast. One of the pictures was of a plaque that is hanging on the wall in Steve’s office. The plaque was something commemorating Steve’s service with SEAL Team 2. The info I found on google says SEAL team 2 deploys to Europe, their HQ is Little Creek, VA and they are the only SEAL team with full fledged Arctic warfare capabilities. Which this show sucks with continuity so the plaque doesn’t really mean much but it is possible that Steve was with Team 2 for a while.

          I found the link: http://www.zap2it.com/blogs/hawaii_five-0_chilling_with_alex_oloughlin_in_steve_mcgarretts_office-2013-01

          The picture is in the video slide show below the article.

          Like

          • There also was a resume with all the stations. BUT those dates were so very wrong that it couldn’t be Steve’s. That’s why I didn’t mention it. So, I’m not sure this is actually Steve’s stuff. He might have trained with them before he was assigned to a team. No idea.
            I’ll look for that picture and post it in a comment. Be back. πŸ˜‰

            Like

              • I don’t even know why this bugs me so much but i guess I like a clear timeline.
                I got to admit that pic is really cool but even if we only take the top dates “1993-2010” to be right wouldn’t he have been like 16/17 in 1993 and still in high school?
                P.S. I think I am developing an unhealthy obsession with this show lol

                Like

                • Yeah, that is all totally off. That’s why I don’t give much about any info we see lying around or hanging on walls. πŸ˜‰

                  Oh, and by the way, it’s a good obsession. πŸ™‚

                  Like

                  • I am sure it’s not what the writers/ prop department intended but my own theory is that he was born in ’76, skipped a grade ( not that implausible?) , thus graduating at 17 and getting into Annapolis in ’93. I am sure this is only my own imagination at work but unless they specifically say anything to disprove it, I am sticking with it.
                    Now I gotta get back to real life which seems really boring in comparison to analyzing fictional characters lol

                    Like

      • I wouldn’t want to put you through such torture
        Anyway, thanks for the replies. I was fairly sure they never revealed that back story either and am kind of glad they didn’t.

        Like

      • leiCa
        Not to interfere with that study about the bed scenes, but here is one answer. We had a whole debate about the team a year or so ago – went to study all the SEAL tank tops in different scenes and the only one where the number can be seen was in Episode 114, when Danny came around and Steve got the clutch plate in the post. It can only be seen in a short shot and a small glimpse to be seen of it
        It was SEAL Team Three.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh thank you FOYeur! You’re the best! I remembered seeing this #3 but didn’t get where. I looked not only at the bed scenes but tried to remember when he was wearing his Navy shirts. The screens I’ve seen from 114, in his kitchen, don’t reveal anything. Do you have a link to your study? Pretty sure I’ve read it but I can’t remember so it is worth a re-visit!

          Like

          • It was later when they were in the dining room area. Unfortunately I never wrote a study about it. The discussion was just on Twitter – very very long ago. I only have a screencap of it, that Paula made form the Blu-ray DVD. It was really just visible for a few frames.

            Like

  15. Hi- I’m a first time poster here. I am sorry that there are still some people who can’t disagree with respect instead of an all out attack if they have a different opinion. I hope you will continue to run this site and not allow a few unpleasant people to ruin it for you. As for Danny (or the absence thereof) I am wondering if the big surprise will be Danny”s resignation from H50 because he is suffering fro PTSD ( having stolen it from McG because the writers forgot whose story-line it was?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

