6.25 Press Release

“O ke ali’I wale no ka’u makemake” – In order to stop a meth epidemic on the Island, McGarrett and Danny go undercover as pilots, but when McGarrett is seriously wounded, Danny is forced to break their cover in order to save his partner’s life, on the second hour of the sixth season finale of HAWAII FIVE-0, Friday, May 13 (10:00-11:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. 

(“O ke ali’I wale no ka’u makemake” is Hawaiian for “My Desire Is Only For The Chief”)

625001

I don’t quite understand why they give us the end of the episode in their press release and the picture coming with it. Unless there is a huge time-jump in the episode. Or they tell the story backwards. But whatever the case, after getting shot and receiving other injuries, there is no way McG would be up and running around in a couple of days.

On the other hand, we’re talking Five-0 here. They only got their injuries right one time. When Max had been shot; he had been down for the count for many weeks, as it would be after a bullet enters your body.

The worst time screw-up was after 5.01 when Steve got shot in the leg. He was up and running the next day. At least according to their timeline in the next episode. Ridiculous.

But we will see soon enough what they have planned for our heroes. I love the picture with Grover looking really worried and scared about his friend.

REGULAR CAST:

Alex O’Loughlin (Steve McGarrett)  
Scott Caan (Danny “Danno” Williams)  
Daniel Dae Kim (Chin Ho Kelly)  
Grace Park (Kono Kalakaua)  
Masi Oka (Dr. Max Bergman)  
Chi McBride (Lou Grover)  
Jorge Garcia (Jerry Ortega)  

 

GUEST CAST:  

Taylor Wily (Kamekona)
Dennis Chun (Sgt. Duke Lukela)
Teilor Grubbs (Grace Williams)
Shawn Mokuahi Garnett (Flippa)
Shawn Thomsen (Officer Pua Kai)
Kekoa Kekumano (Nahele Huikala)
David Paluck (Nathaniel Francis)
Sung Kang (Dae Won)
Adam William Zastrow (Liko)
Ronald Stirrup (CIA Op #1)
Neil R. McCown (CIA Op #2)
George Kee Cheung (Old Man)
Ma’a Tanuvasa (Deputy Marcus Kalawaiia)
Josh Fingerhut (Michael)
Peter Roberts (Dr. Issac Cornett)
Jyothi Gunta (Nurse)
Zach Sulzbach (Charlie Edwards)
Yancy Medieros (Helicopter Door Gunner)
Duane “Dog” Chapman (Dog The Bounty Hunter)

WRITTEN BY: Peter M. Lenkov & Matt Wheeler

DIRECTED BY:  Bryan Spicer

66 thoughts on “6.25 Press Release

  1. If the guest cast listing means they’re all going to be in THIS episode, I’m not sure how they’re going to find time for McGarrett’s story unless they’re all huddled in the waiting room at the end. Guess we’ll see soon.

    Like

  2. Hi I have been around reading your site and love your answers. For this episode I am interested in the 2 CIA characters in the cast. I really hope this will be for Steve setting up a storyline for next season. Could be for number of reasons Catherine. Doris or Wo Fat’s father. I have seen the photo’s and all the recurring characters are only at the hospital so they only have one scene. Maybe Steve and Danny are telling the story in flash back from their hospital beds.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Steve whump…..I’m in. Since I have only seen a few pictures I still don’t know how this is going to go down. Nice to see that Nahele is listed. I only pray we get a sensible story line.

    Like

  4. Steve whump, yes. The only potential problem I have seen in the pictures is that the injuries evident on Steve in the beach pictures don’t seem present in the hospital pictures. They have totally screwed up the injury timeline in the past just as you commented, but I assumed this one would have the injury pretty late in the episode with the hospital scene as the close. A flashback could be in order too… I hope the episode doesn’t disappoint and connects to other storylines that have been going on.

    Like

          • This is why I went to a g mail account. Don’t know if I mentioned it, but I was hacked. (me, not the server) So everything had to be changed–passwords, names, etc .. This is a brand new computer. Old one died, not because of the hack, but because after 4 years they are ready to die. I miss the old- all the bells and whistles but complete waste of $. unless its a primary work horse. And it was not. Just personal stuff. The cheaper models are just as good. Lesson learned.

            Like

              • Referring to Steve and Danny:– “It puts both of them in a very life-and-death situation that will actually, at the end of it, connect them more than ever. One of them is going to save the other’s life in a huge way.” The ending isn’t a cliff-hanger per se, but some viewers may interpret it that way, Lenkov teases. “What happens between McGarrett and Danny is going to have ripple effects into next season.”

                OK, the third line regarding the non-cliff hanger is not in quotes, so that may be a little editorializing on the part of the interviewer. And they have already released pictures of a wounded McG so is Danny the life saver or is it the other way around since they released so much about the finale already? Is this a way to confuse us? I’m not sure what “a huge way” means unless one of them is donating a kidney or something. That certainly would connect them.
                Line 4- I read the “ripples” as another “obstacles” comment. Could this be a way of Danny leaving H50 because he realizes that Rachel won’t return to him because his job is dangerous? That’s why she left him in the first place. So if he quits being a cop and raises sweet corn in Jersey, then everybody wins except Stan.

                If the ‘tease” comment, not in quotes, means that McG mentions Cath in the episode, then that can qualify as the non cliff hanger for some fans.

                Or I am totally off base and Danny buys an engagement ring and begs Steve to marry him. That’s huge, right? And the ripples will be the fallout at headquarters when fans state that love interests should play a minor role in the first or last five minutes of an episode. That dovetails with Danny not being in many episodes next season.

                Liked by 1 person

                • Welcome back Mama. I often feel exactly like your Avi looks, especially when it comes to comments like the ones PL made about this episode. As I said earlier, I am sure the McDannos are in seventh heaven with that news. I’ve got news for PL, if he would write Danny better then we wouldn’t need to “connect them more than ever”. I do hope that it is not an organ donation but that is just me. It would only give Danny more to complain about.

                  Like

                  • Lately, I felt more than ever before that the two are drifting apart. Steve finally stopped taking any shit from Danny, and, I don’t know, they just don’t feel close. Even less than before.
                    Maybe it’s just because Danny is rarely there, and even when he is he mostly just stands around looking bored.

                    Liked by 1 person

                  • Moonjat- I really think Danny will be written as a much smaller presence in S7. It’s only a matter of when and how they do it because they already have set a precedent in S6 by giving him a reduced work schedule. The question is –who will be the new character added to the cast to pickup the slack? News about new cast additions will probably come out at the end of the summer. ( And I am not referring to Cath. She’s in a different category altogether.)
                    As for the 7th Heaven for the McDannos, I got this here Bridge I’m lookin’ to sell. Dream on.
                    I really like the actor and he deserves to be happy and if leaving H50 is what it takes, I wish him well.
                    We’ll just have to wit and see.

                    Liked by 2 people

                    • As we know SC negotiated five less episodes this season so I wonder if he will or has asked for even more episodes off for season 7? If Alex had signed only through S6 then I assume SC did the same. I wonder how many more he can take off before CBS begins to believe they can do without him? I just hope that the writers decide that this big change will be that Danny stops whining and really begin to be nicer. Last night stretched my patience a bit, the few lines he did have.

                      Like

                  • Danny must be a blood donor for Steve. Is Danny a universal donor? They can make him one, Sharing a pint or two will make them close. Blood Brothers!

                    Like

                    • That might be a very reasonable idea so I guess that won’t be it. Would receiving an organ transplant force Steve to retire from the Navy? I don’t know what their protocol is. I would hate to see that become part of the story line even though I don’t want Steve back in the Navy permanently.

                      Like

                • Rofl. I never thought about that. The part about a love interest shouldn’t be seen very often. Guess the McDannos haven’t thought about that either. ☺
                  Organ donation is totally out of the question if they want to keep a shred of reality.
                  And Mr. Lenkov’s huge and other superlatives were never that huge or super when they aired. 😉

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • I figured that a transplant would result in a medical discharge so I really, really hope that isn’t the route they take. Steve doesn’t deserve that. And I agree that when PL has claimed there will be huge changes in certain episodes it often doesn’t pan out that way. He tends to over-estimate how earth shaking some of his ideas are.

                    Liked by 1 person

  5. Are we allowed to comment on PL’s interview on a site I won’t name, unless you clear it. Not spoilerish per se, but interesting. . But if you would rather we not go there, that’s good.

    Like

  6. I was wondering too if those comments from PL meant that Danny was leaving. Although somewhere recently I read an interview and I think it was Alex who said that “Scott really wants to be here” or something similar. It was painfully clear in last night’s ep that Steve has had it with Danny. He basically ignored him for most of the show.
    Organ donation also went thru my head (why else would they both be in the hospital) and it’s a cause near and dear to Alex. But it would be a ridiculous scenario for H50. Someone who’s just been shot with at least 3 bullets (judging by the promo pics) is not going to survive a transplant in such a short time period. The body is too traumatized. The nurse in me cringes at some of their unrealistic medical arcs. But I remind myself that this is fictional entertainment, and I go look through all the gorgeous Alex gifs and I feel much better. LOL. I’m hoping it’s something more believable, such as Danny giving CPR to Steve.
    I have to admit I’ve watched the last scene from last night’s ep about 10 times. Alex is a master with subtle facial expressions. First, he’s alone in his office dreading Nahele’s arrival. Then, he puts on a kind face when Nahele excitedly talks about the food fest. Steve’s trying to be happy for the kid but knows he’s going to take the wind out of his sails. And when he tells him — quietly and factually — his eyes are full of compassion and support. And then the hug and “yeah, you do, pal”…….omg, I melted.
    The only thing that bothered me about that scene was the damn camera going all around the outside of the office. Why? It was so distracting. I wanted to see the conversation up close.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Mama, where can I read this PL interview? I’d like to read it.

    As for the episode, I have he feeling that they have spilled a lot, but haven’t told us something big either.
    For the CIA storyline, I too thought Steve was going to see someone, that would supposedly be Who Fat’s father (because he was the one who woud be held prisoner), and if it was Catherine or Doris there would be no reason for them to meet on a black site. But I just realized that none of the three is listed in the cast, so it’ a big mystery: why is Steve is going to meet two CIA ops (listed on cast) on a black site? Is this part of the meth plot or not? I have no idea.

    For the hospital storyline, and Steve’s injuries, we’ve seen:
    – the team rush to help an unconscious and bloody Steve out of the plane (agree, great pic, Lou’s face tells all), while Danny exit the plane on his legs and seemingly unscathed.
    – That hospital pic. I still wonder what DDK wanted to say when commenting his video that what we see was not what we’ll get. (or something like this) Boh? Anyway, it’s true that in that pic Steve looks relatively good,certainly not like one heavily injured as he should be. And Danny should not be a patient. So I too am afraid that they screw it up again. But actually there should be an explanation. IMHO all the balloons and the flowers (I LOVE how those show how Steve is loved) are in Steve’s “part” of the room, and this IMO means that Danny arrives later (if of course the authors aren’t if full screwing mode). Also, there are a doctor and a nurse listed in the cast, so we’ll have some hospital actions. Plus, the rest of the team will took down (I hope) the meth gang. And this is more time to add. So,IMO it not so strange if Steve looks better than if he was coming straight from the crashed plane. BTW, in the vid & pics they are not acting… there is still the mystery of why Danny is admitted to the hospital, (still assuming the writers aren’t screwing up.) Has Danny injured himself on the takedown of the baddies? HAs he really donated an organ to Steve as some fans hypothesize? This would fit perfectly wht the (supposed)timeline and would be that huge life-saving thing for Danny to do – because flying the plane he saved Steve but himself too. And this scenario doesn’t seem so unlikely…

    Ok, I realize I am totally obsessed, and will be for another month at least. I REAlly can’t wait.
    Please forgive my badder than ever english.

    Like

    • The interview was in TV Guide, in the section for season finales. The quote I copied and pasted was all that I saw. I don’t believe there was any more but if someone else read anything further, maybe they will let us know. Leaking so much of the finale makes me wonder if we are being misdirected as to what is really going on.

      Like

  8. My thoughts of what connects them more than ever is a blood transfusion. Can you image if Danny received Steve’s blood…the thoughts of having “Super Seal” blood? His fear of acting like Steve would send him into overdrive !! At least it would give him something new to complain about LOL. And it’s the only logical reason why I think they would be sharing a hospital room.

    Like

      • I just love reading all of the theories we are batting around here. I suppose that other sectors of the fandom have different interpretations of all the photos, teasers and videos out there. I would love to know what they are thinking. I do have this gut feeling that Danno might be Dunno next season.

        Like

  9. Pretty much everything all of the wonderful commenters here have said…. There had better not be a miraculous recovery. I’m glad I’m not the only one who counted the three wounds in that BTS pic, and I am not the only one obsessing about this finale. I really need to “fast” from all online H50 spoilers til the finale; it takes up way too much of my time and energy. I dreamed about taking care of McG in an ambulance and ER last night. More fanfiction stories would help with that……
    It is interesting that the last two episodes had some friction between McG and Danny, although who knows if these writers really intended it to be serious. Other than the medical donation options ya’ll have mentioned and a ridiculous jumping the shark of McDanno, I can’t figure out what would send ripples into next season. I guess there could be Danny leaving. I cannot wait for this finale and cannot wait to share thoughts with all of you.

    Like

  10. The organ donation theory is hysterical. Because of course, Danny would be a perfect match, right? OMG, if this is the route they go no wonder all of the writers jumped ship.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Logically, there won’t be an organ donation. The only living donations are kidneys and partial liver……from the pictures Steve is hit on the left side. The liver is on the right. And only if both of his kidneys were damaged would a donation be needed there. So it’s gotta be blood or CPR — but why would Danny be in the hospital too? A mystery! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Oh lord I appreciate you saying this! I don’t want McG sidelined forever, which he would be, by an organ transplant! No more Longboards at SideStreet, no more crazy SuperSEAL stunts…just say no, PLenkov! 😡

          But you have given me hope… Whew!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Fingers crossed. Organ donation would be the worst!
          Not that I really believe it but maybe it is Steve who saves Danny from being shot? If he takes the bullets instead of Danny? And then Danny has to land this stupid plane, blowing up choppers, getting hurt, landing in the hospital with a concussion. And then they can argue about the TV channel. Oh fun.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Steve doesn’t even have any makeshift bandages, so my guess is they get shot at when already in the air. No way would a person without training get the bird off the ground. And I will also bet that Steve is conscious and flying that plane until shortly before touch down. Or the thing is on autopilot. ☺
            There will be no organs donated and no blood from Danny to Steve. The huge and epic saving will simply be the crash-landing of the plane.
            And ripple effect into next season? Maybe Danny has to pay for damages. 😉

            Liked by 2 people

            • I am pretty sure it will happen in the air. In my mind Danny annoys the meth dealers with his loudmouth so much (hey, even dealers can take so much), that they are going to shoot him but Steve jumps in, throws himself in front of Danny and boom. 😉
              And if it does not happen that way it has to be written. Because that is exactly what Steve would do. *stomps feet*

              Liked by 3 people

              • Well, there you all go again trying to apply reason and science to this thing. Medical considerations? Poof! Maybe Steve’s liver is on the wrong side. They never pay much attention to “details” anyway. Or maybe Danny has an extra organ somewhere to donate and Steve’s super healing powers get him up and running in a few days. Or, Danny was taking secret flying lessons to surprise Steve. Or Danny accidentally shot Steve and now has to donate his perfectly matched blood to save Steve, who wakes up with Danny-like hair and but has no clue why. Or maybe all of these leaked photos are just a blind and it really is Danny’s going away party held in Charlie’s hospital room after a routine check up.

                OK, I’m sure the writers can do better than that but I have this feeling that since AOL believes in organ donation,……?

                If we can think it, they might write it. And that worries me–a lot.

                Liked by 1 person

                • Yes, he believes in it, as do I. But that is a serious business that needs to be treated with a LOT of respect and consideration. Certainly not in a way many have suggested. This is nothing to use as a gimmick on the show, and if they are wise they will not go there. After a transplantation you will live, but your life will change in a huge way. Everyone even considering using any kind of organ transplantation story should think long and hard about what that really involves. They botched up Charlie’s transplant, they should stop before they cause even more damage.
                  But I am convinced all this is just the rumor implanted by some seriously deranged fans. And a lot of people have seriously jumped on it. I’m glad most here don’t take it too seriously.

                  Liked by 2 people

                  • I wish the brain trust in the writers room would put as much thought into what you said as you do. The example with Charlie makes me nervous though. I don’t think the writers google much or do much research.

                    Liked by 1 person

                  • OK Sam, now you are really frightening me. Are you saying that there are really “fans” who think the transplant story is actually realstic? They see nothing absurd about this scenario? I sincerely hope the show would not go this far but I’d be willing to bet that if it’s a blood transfusion they will make Danny the only perfect match for Steve and Steve will have to spend whatever abbreviated time Danny has on screen in S7 listening to how he saved Steve’s life.

                    And I don’t think AOL would be happy if they are even thinking along these lines (which I really don’t) or if some crazies tweet this to PL as part of their wish list to bring McDanno closer. I can’t believe anyone is actually taking this seriously. Exactly when did sarcasm and realism part ways for these people?

                    Like

                    • I think the more reasonable ones believe it’s unrealistic, but I’ve seen others who are giddy with the idea that Danny and Steve will share body parts. Those people may need to give fanfic reading a rest.

                      Like

                    • I don’t even know what to say. It’s one thing to propose outrageous scenarios to see if we can rival what the writers come up, just to exercise our vivid imaginations, but when a segment of the fandom actually buys into it, I worry.

                      Liked by 1 person

        • Oh! Thanks for the clarification (although part of me worries that on THIS show, a liver is on the left side, ROFLMAO)

          I wonder if Danny ends up in the hospital after Steve is admitted, as in – the rest of the 5-0s go to finish the case and Danny is hurt. If so, I’m not thrilled at the idea of Steve being sidelined from the action, but … oh well.

          Like

  11. Sorry, I’m late to the party again. I love all these comments and debating the outcome of the season finale, some of you should be writing for the show. As excited as I am, especially after seeing the finale photo which I hadn’t seen before, I would take PL’s comments with a pinch of salt. As you pointed out, he does have a habit of building up an episode, only for it to be no surprise at all. His comments probably just refer to him landing the plane and therefore saving McGarrett’s life, unless Danny realises he loves flying and Steve teaches him how to fly in series 7 thus explaining the ripples in to series 7. I don’t think it will be kidney donor etc 😉 but I am worried about the title of the episode which translates to “My Desire Is Only For The Chief”. Surely this isn’t meaning Danny’s desire for Steve??? Maybe mamayorkie is right and Danny proposes to Steve after nearly losing him!!! Can’t wait.

    Like

Leave a Reply

