In Memory

With great sadness I have to tell you that Cokie’s dad has passed away today.

He had sustained a few broken ribs a few weeks ago from a fall, which, unfortunately let his health deteriorate. Today he lost his short battle.

May he rest in peace.

I had the privilege of meeting him last October. I will always remember him fondly. He raised a wonderful daughter who I call a very dear friend. I so wish I could be there for her in person. My thoughts and prayers will be with Cokie and her family.

22 thoughts on “In Memory

  1. Deepest sympathies to you and your family at this very sad time.
    I know only too well what you are going through, but please know that time will make your loss easier to bare.
    With love and prayers to you and your family

    Like

  2. So very sorry Cokie!
    It was such a pleasure meeting you in person recently. I feel even more connected now, my heart aches for you and your family. May your dad rest in peace.
    Aloha!

    Like

  3. I am so sorry for your loss, Cokie. I know what it’s like to lose a parent, dad, suddenly, even if it’s after a short illness, you’re never ready. I can’t give you the common words that people say to express sympathy and grief. It’s dad, it’s your parent, it’s a part of you. People who have lost a parent (and anyone special) share deeply in this grief with you. Take care of you. Hugs.

    Like

  4. Dear Cokie:

    When we look into the eyes of children, we can see the reflection of those who have passed, their pure love brightly shining, and their quiet whisper that we are never alone.

    Find peace and comfort in the knowledge that the memories buried deep within your heart are your gift from a father who still holds your hand on the darkest night.

    Requiescat in pace

    Like

  5. Cokie, I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. I hope I’m not being too forward when I say that whatever he may have accomplished in this life, he accomplished something truly wonderful – you. When my own father passed, I vowed that in his memory I would be as honest and kind as I could be. You already had a good start on that. Peace and love to you and your family.

    Like

  6. wow, thank you everyone for these beautiful sentiments. It has been a trying day but my dad died in his sleep and though they tried to revive him, he never woke up. I’m OK with that. He has missed and grieved for my momma for 16 months and now I believe they are together. I can’t be sad about that either. Yes, I will miss him. He lived just a mile away and even at his house today, it was a strange feeling knowing he wouldn’t be back. But, as Sam said, he broke some ribs in June. He was watering his tomato plants when he fell. I asked him where his cane was and his reply was, “Linda, I can’t use a cane and carry a bucket of water at the same time…” 🙂 Well, yes, I guess you can’t. He was doing something he loved (gardening) and at 89 he was able to live at home alone until about 6 weeks ago. I can only hope I can live as long on my own as he did.

    Sam, thanks so much for your sweet post. I am so glad you got to meet him. He asked about you frequently. He knew how special you are to me. And… for the record… the selfish side of me wishes you were closer in miles, too. But what we lack in proximity, we certainly make up for in conversations. Thank you, my friend.

    Like

  7. Oh, Cokie, my thoughts are with you and yours. Your words about your dad make me realize you come from good stock. May your parents be living it up reunited, and may your memories keep both of them close to your heart.

    Like

  8. Cokie, I am so sorry for your loss, but thankful you shared a bit of your father with us in your post. He sounded like a spunky man! I love that he asked about Sam regularly – a good dad, keeping his little girl (we’re always the little girl to our dads) and her friend’s in mind. I pray God’s amazing peace for you, particularly in the next days of preparations, and all the business stuff of family members passing.

    Like

  9. So sorry for your loss but as you said, he was living his life until very recently. There is something to be said for a soul not suffering for months/years in pain and despair. He and your mother are loving each other’s company again! (((HUGS)))

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh Cokie I am so sorry! I remember you talking about your Dad so fondly. Losing a parent, a father hurts so much. But it is wonderful that he could live his life doing the things he loved till the end.
    I am thinking of you! Hugs!

    Like

  11. Cokie, my thoughts and prayers are coming your way tonight. My grandmother passed away this week, so I definitely feel a little of what you’re going through right now. I hope you find comfort in what sounds like a life that was well-lived and the good memories you have of your dad. Not to mention good friends like Sam who look out for you, even from thousands of miles away. *hug*

    Like

  12. Cokie, my deepest condolences to you on the loss of your dad. I loved what you said about him above–he sounds a lot like my own dad. 🙂 I’m glad he didn’t have a long time to suffer. Hard as it is to lose our loved ones so quickly, it is a blessing to know that they didn’t have a long time to suffer through a lingering illness. And I love the idea that your mom was waiting for him to join her. ❤ I can tell you from experience that losing your second parent often brings up new grief about the first one, because now you are grieving both of your parents together. May your memories comfort you, and may the friendship of so many all over the world shine on you and keep you company when you are sad.

    Like

  13. Cokie, sorry to hear about your loss. Please accept my sympathies, and take care of yourself. Reflect in the many joys you have experienced with him, as he lives on through yourself and your memories.

    Like

  14. I had no internet since Wednesday but did read this on my way up north. So sorry to hear of your loss Cokie. I did contact you on FB but wanted to express my condolences here as well. Thinking of you and praying for the whole family.

    Like

  15. I am playing catch up with a lot of things; the blogs being just one of them. Thanks so much to everyone for your wonderful words of encouragement. The past couple of weeks have gone by in pretty much a blur and now I have the frightening responsibility of condensing 60 years worth of my parents’ memories into boxes. So far, all I have dealt with is useless paperwork, which they kept an abundance of. 🙂 Four trash bins were filled over the weekend; that gets picked up in the morning and then I can start again. This will be a long process…

    But reading all these sweet posts makes me smile. Thanks to all of you. This is a special group of people and I treasure the friendships I have made here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

