2016 Favorite

The end of the year is near; time for the annual poll for your favorite episode.

So, what was your favorite in 2016? Was it one from season six, or did you like all of season seven better?

Pick your three top episodes. The poll will be open until the new year.

And yes, I do know the review for 7.11 is still missing. It will come.

Actually, I have a hard time deciding on just three episodes. I think 2016 brought us many truly awesome episodes. Yes, there were some real duds, too. But all in all I think 2016 was a really good year for H50.

I know, I know… I do complain a lot about a lot of stuff on Five-0. But I always say why I don’t like something, and I think I always also point out the stuff that I do like.

And despite my complaints, even despite being pissed off at the show at times, I truly, dearly love it. Five-0 is still my favorite show. And no complaining about the story not going my way, or the show doing some very, let’s say questionable things, and plain dumb things… will change that.

I have made my peace with Five-0 which doesn’t mean I will simply enjoy the ride. LOL. No, it means I will take it as it is… a TV show. And it is not worth to lose any sleep over it, or to get involved in any ‘wars’ on twitter or whatever social media.

I have my opinion about the show, and no one will change that. People hate certain characters? Fine, be my guest. Some or many don’t agree with my opinion? Fine by me.

I LOVE the show. I don’t agree with all that is happening (off and on-screen), far from it. But I can’t change any of that. And everyone who thinks any part of this show will be changed or has been changed by (them) complaining about it… is simply delusional.

And one more thing that has been bugging me for a few months now. There are a lot of people out there who don’t like Five-0 anymore. Who complain about the show not going their way over and over and over. Who spew nothing but negativity.

Guys, that is getting annoying. I have a suggestion for all those people… if you hate it so much, go watch another show. Plenty out there that might interest you.

And NO, I am not saying you’re not free to express your opinion. But why only almost always negative stuff? If there is nothing about Five-0 that makes you happy… then why the heck are you still watching? Oh, there are things that you think are great? Then why the heck aren’t you sharing that with the world, too?

A little love here and there will be good for you, for us, for everyone. It might even bring a smile to some faces.

And now I will step down from my little soapbox. 🙂

You can click on the pictures if there is a review for the episode.

h50-611-003

8 Jan. 2016 – 6.11 – Kuleana

Chin Ho asks Kamekona to go undercover to help solve the murder of a former drug-dealing associate from his past, while Steve and Danny go to a couples retreat to work on their relationship..


h50-612-001

15 Jan. 2016 – 6.12 – Ua ola loko i ke aloha

Five-0 uncovers a Japanese World War II spy mystery after a young boy is shot in a long-forgotten bunker. Meanwhile, Aunt Deb returns to Hawaii to visit the McGarretts so she can help finish her recently-deceased husband’s “bucket list.”


613-p

22 Jan. 2016 – 6.13 – Umia Ka Hanu

Lou takes extreme measures to expose the truth about a friend’s death, while Danny, Steve, Kono, and Chin compete in a friendly wager that turns deadly.


614-p

12 Feb. 2016 – 6.14 – Hoa ‘inea

The team unravels a plot to murder a pair of unfaithful spouses, while each member also recounts their disastrous Valentine’s Day mishaps.


615Header

19 Feb. 2016 – 6.15 – Ke Koa Lokomaika’i

An autistic man helps Five-0 uncover the details of a daring bank heist, which ultimately leads to another showdown with Gabriel Waincroft. Meanwhile, Danny learns that the Feds want to talk to his mother about his brother’s death.


616-h

26 Feb. 2016 – 6.16 – Ka Pohaku Kihi Pa’a

When Five-0’s sketchy confidential informant is accused of murder, McGarrett asks his old friend Odell Martin to defend him. Michael Imperioli returns and Ziggy Marley guest stars.


617pic

11 Mar. 2016 – 6.17 – Waiwai

McGarrett and Five-0 must track down a Russian spy who has stolen a flash drive containing classified NSA information that puts the life of a member of their Ohana at risk. Also, McGarrett finally learns why Catherine left him, and Abby continues to conceal her actual mission from Chin and Five-0.


618-pic

1 Apr. 2016 – 6.18 – Kanaka Hahai

Five-0 tries to shut down an offshore fishing boat that is using slave labor. Meanwhile, Danny tracks down a pair of violent criminals who stole his car, and inspector Dunn comes clean about her secret mission.


619-pic

8 Apr. 2016 – 6.19 – Malama ka Po’e

Grover is forced to take himself and his family off the grid without notice when he discovers that an enemy from his FBI undercover days has tracked him down.


h50-620-pic

15 Apr. 2016 – 6.20 – Ka Haunaele

The team discovers that the prototype for a high-tech body armor suit has been stolen, and Jerry finds out that his sister is involved with the release of an elephant that is still on the loose.


621-pic

22 Apr. 2016 – 6.21 – Ka Pono Ku’oko’a

Five-0 goes on a manhunt when a chemical spill permits six dangerous inmates to escape, including Kono’s husband, Adam.


622-pic

29 Apr. 2016 – 6.22 – I’ike Ke Ao

Five-0 must save a kidnapped college student from a dangerous vigilante. Also Max, Kamekona and Flippa try to survive after being shipwrecked.


623-pic1

6 May 2016 – 6.22 – Pilina Koko

While investigating the murder of a woman connected to the drug trade, Five-0 discovers that the victim’s daughter has a close personal connection to both Chin Ho and Gabriel Waincroft.


624-pic2

13 May 2016 – 6.24 – Pa’a Ka ‘ipuka I Ka ‘Upena Nananana

Five-0 captures a seriously wounded Gabriel Waincroft and prepare to bring him in, but Michelle Shioma wants him for herself to avenge the death of her father, and her men will stop at nothing to get him for themselves.


625-pic

13 May 2016 – 6.25 – O Ke Ali’i Wale No Ka’u Makemake

In order to stop a meth epidemic on the Island, McGarrett and Danny go undercover as pilots, but when McGarrett is seriously wounded, Danny is forced to break their cover in order to save his partner’s life.


pi701

23 Sep. 2016 – 7.01 – Makaukau ‘oe e Pa’ani?

When the bodies of two serial killers are found on Five-0 property with chess pieces in their mouths, McGarrett and the team hunt for a vigilante as fear grows that tourists aren’t safe in Hawaii.


h50-702image

30 Sep. 2016 – 7.02 – No ke ali’i wahine a me ka ‘aina

Five-0 works with a British secret agent who is on a very secret and personal mission to track down a deadly device and a dangerous terrorist.


h50-703-018

7 Oct. 2016 – 7.03 – He Moho Hou

When FBI Profiler Alicia Brown finds a body in her bed, she is forced to join McGarrett in the hunt for the chess-piece killer. Also, Kono reconnects with a former surfing competitor, who is now a disabled and homeless war vet


704-pic

14 Oct. 2016 – 7.04 – Hu a’e ke ahi lanakila a Kamaile

Five-0 must find McGarrett and Alicia when they are kidnapped by the serial killer they’ve been hunting.


h50-705-pic

21 Oct. 2016 – 7.05 – Ke Ku ‘Ana

When a cache of guns is stolen from a gun range, Five-0 discovers the culprit is intent on making a dramatic and potentially deadly statement on gun violence. Also, Kono and Adam are finally reunited when he is released from prison.


706-pic

28 Oct. 2016 – 7.06 – Ka hale ho ‘okauweli

On Halloween, Five-0 investigates the murder of a medium with a checkered past who was apparently scared to death by a poltergeist. Also, Kono and Adam are kidnapped by what appears to be a death cult.


707

4 Nov. 2016 – 7.07 – Ka makuahine a me ke keikikane

McGarrett’s long-lost love, Catherine, returns to Hawaii unexpectedly to tell Steve that Doris is in trouble and needs his help to be rescued.


708

11 Nov. 2016 – 7.08 – Hana Komo Pae

While Danny chaperones Grace’s winter formal, terrorists seize the venue and hold everyone hostage in order to kidnap a diplomat’s son.


709002

18 Nov. 2016 – 7.09 – Elua la ma Nowemapa

A conspiracy theorist with compelling information that JFK’s own cabinet planned his assassination is murdered. Jerry tells the story of the Honolulu Conference on November 20. 1963.


h50710picture

9 Dec. 2016 – 7.10 – Ka Luhi

Five-0 investigates the 10-year-old cold case of a missing teen when a boy suffering from PTSD undergoes hypnosis and realizes he may have witnessed her murder. Also, Danny’s sister, Bridget (guest star Missy Peregrym), visits Oahu for a business conference, and he suspects that she may be getting too close to a co-worker.


711

16 Dec. 2016 – 7.11 – Ka’ili aku

Five-0 heads to Mexico where Chin risks his life to rescue his kidnapped niece.


And now, give us your vote.  🙂

 

12 thoughts on “2016 Favorite

  1. When I saw this is was thinking it was going to be difficult to choose anything in addition to my 1 obvious episode. Then I read your recaps and the other 2 were no-brainers. My favorite of course was 7×7. The fact Cath and Doris were in it, was enough for me. IMO 2 of the greatest characters (so of course they are both sidelined). I also chose 6×17. Not just because it was indirectly about Cath, ok maybe, but I just loved it. McG in protective mode, is awesome. My final choice was 7×2. The James Bond aspect was fun despite the international ridiculousness. Langford was a great character, so chances are we will never see him again. I thought he played well opposite McG. Other than that there weren’t too many great ones in 2016. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for 2017 but my hopes aren’t too high.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Soooo… I went with 7.07 for the obvious reasons~McG, McMom, McRoll… and no Danno. Also 7.04 cos McG with Alicia, who I enjoy plus McG was a bad-ass SEAL (and all in spite of the knife snafu) …and no Danno. And 6.12, cos McG, Mary, Joanie, and Aunt Deb. Apparently I like McG centric eps with limited Danno interruptions. 😆

    Liked by 3 people

  3. What comes to my mind immediately is 6.12, 6.24 and 7.04. For me these are re-watchable epis! There would be 6.15 too, the Neil episode, but here I always have to skip the horrible DaMom scenes. Yuck.
    Other really good ones are Grover’s family on the run or the return of Steve’s women. But they don’t top my three favorites.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. 625 because Steve’s comment that he was dying and the hospital reflections of the team made the whole Liver thing worthwhile (almost).

    I picked 702 because I want my Harry/James Bond back. He made a much better partner for Steve in that episode than the other guy, who was obsessed with fish and chips.

    707 because Catherine and Doris were back, even though I did not feel we really got the full truth from Cath and a diary from Mom was a way to not truly explain why Doris did the things she did because the writers still haven’t found a way out that makes sense and apparently Steve only read the first few pages.He will read further when they think of something else. And there was unintended humor when Lynn appeared with that hair and dress.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. I’m here to put in my two cents worth. It was tough to pick only three, there are several there that I did enjoy a lot and some that I liked parts of them a lot and only a couple that I really don’t care to see again. Usually if Steve is there……I can tolerate lots of not so good. And I totally agree with you Sam……I don’t understand why some people watch the show only to complain constantly. I love my family dearly but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a few nits to pick so I deal with a TV show the same way.

    I chose 6:25 which I liked up to the liver part. I really liked 7:04 because I liked the crazy doctor as the villain and Steve calming Alicia down and saving her life. And of course 7:07 because it had Cath, even if I had hoped for a better ending. Still it leaves me hope. Thanks for the poll and I wish everyone a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Some people have a very unhealthy obsession with their hatred of a certain character. It has nothing to do with the story line or we would begetting bombarded with nasty comments for Rachel and Abby. So its personal, not show related and in my very humble opinion, stems from the dislike of seeing any romantic lead with McG, especially one who has traction. Shipping Ellie, Lynn or the Airplane Girl is acceptable as long as Catherine is a possibility but if Catherine was written out as a character, then they would be toast because ABC would become ABL or ABE, ABAG or any other combination. Why is this so? Because in their fantasy life, he belongs to them and the only woman acceptable to them is the one who doesn’t count. Telling PL what he should do is a waste of time since he will do as he intends with his own show. Its his right and his responsibility . Anyone who thinks differently is not dealing with reality.

    I don’t want to be the one who rains on their parade,—but–. Steve McGarrett is a fictional character. He doesn’t think for himself. The writers do that for him. He was born, not of woman, but in the mind of a writer and he will think, feel and act as written. And there is no way in hell that he will jump off the page and do otherwise just because some fans want that to happen. Not one of us has any control over what direction the story will take. . Unfortunately, not all of us accept that.

    I don’t know what’s coming but I have a guess. We know Lynn is not in his future, since PL said so. Alicia Brown sounds doubtful as other than a professional relationship. Airplane girl has not been mentioned and unless there is someone else out there we don’t know about, then it leaves only Cath or……………. Danny!

    I am baking cookies.

    Liked by 4 people

  7. I’ve often thought that people hate Catherine but accept abC because the DO see that she’s “very important” to Steve and that threatens them mightily, whether it be because they picture him with them, or because they are McD fans. Or the very sad ones that can’t separate an actress from a character.

    I voted, I’ll be waiting to see the results!

    I too enjoy cookies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

