Rest In Peace, Dad

Yesterday at six p.m. my dad passed away.

He died at almost 88 years old. His life was full of laughter, life and love for his family. He went through good times and bad times, but never lost his sense of humor.

He met his wife when they were just teenagers, and he had been heartbroken when she died two years ago. Now they are back together. Forever.

Dad, I will always love you, I will always miss you, but I know you are at peace now.

Thank you for all you have given me.

RIP08

40 thoughts on “Rest In Peace, Dad

  1. Oh Sam, sorry to hear that. I know he’s had a tough time lately – I how he and yourMom are having a wonderful reunion.

    And he got to hold a TIGER! lucky boy! And a handsome man. You can tell that he loved to laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Otto last spring and he was sweet, funny (even through the language barrier) and I was so glad he was able to go on a day trip with us. We had breakfast with him every morning as well. Such a sweet man. I love all the photos… especially the one with McBear and captain Lou!

    Much love, Sam to you and all your family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • He loved meeting you and often talked about you. He hoped to see you again next year. That was his ambitious goal, knowing that it would be a long shot.
      And he loved the trip we took that day, a dark place but such a wonderful day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh Sam, I am so sorry to hear this news. You posted such lovely photos, take comfort in the good memories, they do sustain you when times are rough. Sending you love and hugs from across the ocean, take care of yourself in the tough days ahead. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I am so sorry for your loss. I will be praying for you over the next few days. Thank you for sharing your family with all of us. It is lovely to hear how long your parents were together and the love they had for one another. I also enjoy that smiling picture with Commander McBear and Captain Lou!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oi, Sam…
    Também perdi meu paizinho há 10 anos, agora.
    Não é fácil, eu bem sei.
    Mas sei também que não há morte verdadeira, apenas voltamos
    para nossa verdadeira pátria, que é a espiritual.
    Saiba que todos os nossos entes amados não morreram. Eles vivem
    e estão totalmente cientes do que se passa conosco. Sabem que sentimos sua
    falta e que continuamos os amando. Tudo o que escrevo talvez não sirva de consolo em sua
    dor. Mas espero que acalme o seu coração.
    Abraços
    Cláudia

    Like

  6. Sam, once again I am so sorry for your loss. I never had the chance to meet your dad but I was touched that you shared a lot about him with me over the recent months. My deepest respect that you and your family cared for him the way you did.
    I hope he is in a good place now, together with your mom.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, Sam, I am so very sorry. I am crying as I type this because I lost my own dad a few years ago, so I understand the sorrow but I can see how blessed you were to have had him as your father. His greatest legacy is that he raised a wonderful, strong daughter and I know he must have been very proud of you. I hope our Dads run into each other in Heaven. Mine is the one trying to keep all the family Yorkies in line. I hope your Dad likes dogs.

    Requiescat in pace

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I’m very sorry for your loss. It’s very hard and we are never prepared for it. But you took care of him (and your mom as well) and shared so many moments that create so many great memories that will comfort you now and in the future. By the pictures that you shared of your mom and dad, we feel love, happiness and a full life. One is for sure, they made a wonderful human being – you.

    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sorry for your loss. I lost my dad recently. Even though he had a long and happy life and we knew the end was near, you are never prepared for the void left in your heart. Sending you hugs!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I’m sorry for your loss! Even if you kinda expected it, it is never easy to lose your father. Wish you all the strength you need now!

    Like

  11. I adore his smile. It is “spitzbübisch”. People with such a smile are my kinda people.
    And those people never get old.

    I am thinking of you, Sam. Hugs.

    (And one day I would like to hear the story behind the lion in his lap.)

    Like

  12. So sorry Sam. Thoughts and prayers are with your family during this tough time. 88-Years old seems to be such a great and extraordinary life. Close to my father. So know the feeling. Love people like my dad as they know from experience. And your dad may have taught you experience in the being prepared for life. May he RIP!

    Like

  13. I’m so sorry your dad has passed on, Sam. He seems like a really lovely guy. ❤ He led an interesting and full life, and that is a true accomplishment. Wishing you comfort. I love the idea of him celebrating a reunion with your grandmother. 🙂

    Like

  14. So sorry to hear that your dad has passed. Your lovely photos show a handsome and kind looking man who led a full and interesting life and who had a sense of humor and a fondness for animals. Wonderful qualities to have. May your sadness be lightened by memories of the time you got to spend with him and the knowledge that he is reunited with his sweetheart.

    Like

  15. I am so sorry for your loss! I hope you are finding a little comfort in knowing he lived a full life and is reunited with his sweetheart. Love and prayers heading your way. ❤️

    Like

  16. Hi,
    Sorry to hear your dad died. I still miss my dad. He died in 1986. He taught me to drive, how to diagram a sentence, a love for reading, words, music, singing, & math. He also taught me how to handle money & to ride a bike. I’m sure you will always remember both your parents and all they taught you. May the good times & laughs you shared with them over the years be a comfort to you now.
    Hugs from upstate NY, USA.
    Nancy13

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

