Smooth Dog

Anything on the Hawaii Five-0 team in season 8?
I hear there’s going to be another new member of the team — but it’s definitely not who (or what!) you’re expecting. “There is a story that’s coming up, it actually was Alex O’Loughlin’s idea,” EP Peter Lenkov says. “I wanted to do a story where the victim left in the wake of a tragedy was a dog who lost its owner. It’s a very emotional, really great story. It’s a dog that’s a drug sniffing service dog that McGarrett ends up adopting. It’s a really emotional journey, but it was his idea to keep the dog, and I thought that was a great one.”

Source: Entertainment Weekly

That is a spoiler I already like. I just hope they find a good way how McGarrett will find the time to take care of the dog. You know, a dog is not like a cat which you can leave alone for many hours. Cats don’t mind much. But dogs are very different, so it will be interesting to see how they will handle this.

56 thoughts on “Smooth Dog

    • And oddly enough, McG couldn’t fix Danny. He is still miserable, still whines, and is too self important to take orders. Maybe Steve will let the dog drive. I’m on board for that.

      Liked by 5 people

  1. This is the best spoiler for a long time I love it and it was Alex idea to keep the dog for one of Steve story lines.
    Alex will kill all the emotions and I hope this episode will be near to the beginning of season 8 so we can see the relationship between Steve and the dog grow. As it is a police dog it can come to work with Steve and help the team in drug busts

    Liked by 6 people

  2. I also like this idea a lot. I think it would be good to use it on some cases. Most likely the writers if they have half a brain…..yes that is doubtful but if they do they can have a neighbor agree to dog sit at times. We really don’t know much about his neighbors. Of course watching this dog could be a very safe job for Danny to take on. That way he won’t have to worry about being shot on the job, just bitten.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Not to be too cynical or anything, but this is horrible news. If I want to encounter stories about dogs, I can go on Facebook (which I went off some time ago). In the second-last season of the original Five-O, there was a “dog” story which had to do with some rich woman’s attempts to override Hawaii’s strict quarantine laws about bringing pets to the islands (among other things). This is regarded by many as a real shark-jumping episode for the old series, even though I didn’t think it was that bad the last time I viewed it, mainly because the woman who owned the dog was very hot. (No doubt exceptions will be made for the upcoming Five-Zero show because Alex is also a hot guy, LOL.) There was also a “dog” story on The Streets of San Francisco, which I am currently doing anal-ysis for. It was the series’ very last show. The plot line at IMDb says: “A cruise ship is docked in San Francisco. A known embezzler is aboard the ship and had hid the jewels on a dog collar.” Barf!

    Liked by 2 people

    • LOL! I’m not totally sure 5-0 hasn’t already jumped the shark, babe. It is the hotness of Alex that’s saved it so far. So many of us just can’t quit him. And him with a dog? Well, recall the pure fanjoy of him and that cat…. if MrWhiskers stirred it up, my LORD what will happen with a McDog! 😉

      Liked by 4 people

  4. SQUEEEEEEE!!!
    Don’t spoil my joy!
    Nobody.
    Best thing since…… ever!
    Period.
    Woof.
    Alex will kill this.
    Woof.
    Meow was ok. But woof is better.
    McPussy is history. McK9 is canine – oops – sorry, canon.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Writers– Please don’t ever take this dog away from Steve. You have taken everything else. His mother, his father, his lover, Catherine, his best friend, Freddie, his aunt Deb. He is not even sure he can trust his mentor Joe white. Two long time members of his team have left him behind. Let him have this one thing Just for now, let him be happy,

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Aww, so many of the same thoughts ya’ll have. I am excited to see Steve get to bond with something – something that will be his best friend with no complaints involved. Maybe as Steve bonds with this new guy, he will show on screen more of that introspection that PL told us he would have after liver.
    McDoggy doesn’t have to bite Danny, but bark at him constantly and maybe chew some of his ties (that Danny left in the office cause McDoggy will never have reason to enter Danny’s house!).
    And yes, there had better be NO McG holding an empty leash or staring longingly at an empty water dish……

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Yeah as really he needs someone to understand him. As he is like a wounded man. Inside out. Hope he teams up with the Navy SEAL as both would be their kind of guys and be best friends. Or better yet, have Steve continue more of McGrover not McDanno! Love the former as both of them are real friends. Grover is a real friend and hopefully will pick up the slack left by Chin. As missing Chin already!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. You are one snarky, funny and entertaining bunch, you know that right? I love it here!
    For the dog: I know that a lot of you are McRoll shippers, but can we unite in shipping McWoof? McFur? McPaw? McMuzzle?
    Cough, btw I made me laugh this morning thinking maybe the dog will be a … dundundun … FEMALE! LOL. Sorry Grace. 😉
    And now Steve has to drive his own car, the Camaro is too small for a dog to feel comfortable. And of course it will ride shotgun. “Every time you goooooo / To the place that we knowwwwww … Beep, beep!” (Alex O’Loughlin)

    Do we know the name of the dog? Any suggestions? Rantamplan? Rintintin? Pluto? Bernhard?
    My choice is Pinsel, teehee.

    Liked by 4 people

  9. Oh we are all such terrible tpeople as per the chief cauldron stirrer. We have infuriated the entire coven . How can we diss Danny? Well, if he leaves or spends most of the season in NJ or packing the car, on the bathroom or off with Rachel and the kids, we will have less opportunity. Then the entire fandom can agree on something. No more dissing Danny because…….no Danny!!!!

    As for naming the dog, I hope it is a female because we need some diversity there. The show may even tout that as an example to show they are willing to give roles to more non-sexy females. We can call her McBullet. Or McSniper. or just McDoggie.

    I think the 175th epi is scheduled for 807? Please let me know if I counted wrong.I t will be telling to see if we get a certain “no show” again. Such dedication.

    I am having a ball with this blog. I had to edit this response because I am afraid of Sam.

    Liked by 6 people

    • Never be afraid. I love the fun everyone is having. Too bad some people take the show so seriously. It’s a bloody TV show, and Danny nothing more than a fictional character. Lighten up. Geez.
      And isn’t it interesting how some people always come back here to complain elsewhere? Disturbed, if you ask me. But honestly, I couldn’t care less. I wouldn’t even know without people telling me, because my time is too precious to waste it with idiots who spew their hate for a certain character and for people not following their path all over the web. Pathetic.

      Liked by 5 people

      • I don’t get why people read things they know they won’t like. Except maybe they feel like they need attention so they go whine about how awful we are. Boo hoo.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Kimphin:

          They lurk here because it has become personal to them. It stopped being just about Cath a long time ago. Now it is really about us, a segment of this tiny fandom that doesn’t pull punches, try to curry favor or take their B.S.

          Why else would they continue to post pictures of Lynn and dream of her return when PL has said outright she is not in McGs future? Is it to see her publicly dumped? I hope Lynn is the one to break things off with dignity. I hope the same for Melissa when she finds out about Rachel. Is it in response to the McRoll ship that they fear is getting ready to dock?

          Why post snide remarks about this site? Is it because it gets more hits than the idiot one? Is it because we have some very diverse opinions which we respectfully express without fear of reprisal? The one thing I like most about this site is that people have a highly developed sense of humor. We didn’t make Danny obnoxious. The writers did.

          It is just a show. When it ends we will all move on. Yes, it is personal to them and that amuses to no end.

          We don’t stir the cauldron. That’s their thing. They need a hobby or a life. Or counseling.

          Liked by 3 people

          • I think they truly believe that they are a part of the show. They seemingly have no other interests. It’s weird.

            I’ve mocked the show since day one. It’s highly mockable. I enjoy the wit here – it’s my cup of tea! (OK we clearly all know by now that’s not tea in my cup!) It’s more telling about them that they read what’s written here and get so incensed that they literally cannot deal with it. They really should stay in their own bubble, its safer for them.

            Liked by 4 people

  10. If McGarrett takes the dog to the vet, of course Danno will have to come along because he can’t stand not being the center of attention for five seconds. When they are there, McGarrett will snoop around in the vet’s cabinets and find a doggie otoscope which he will use to look in Danno’s ear and determine if Danno has rabies. 🙂

    Of course the dog will be a female, and people who hate you-know-who will complain that it is “another bitch messing up McGarrett’s life,” LOL.

    Liked by 8 people

  11. I’m late to the party but oh boy, do I love this blog and missed coming here 😊
    Great inputs from everyone! I am thrilled about a dog for Smooth Dog. Let’s hope the writers at least don’t screw up this storyline and “put it on the shelf” again as Alex himself said it often happens with other SL’s. But since it was his idea one can only hope, right? 😉

    Sam, you nailed it with your comment! Too busy giving the others attention when they complain once again that we are the ones complaining yet THEY take complaining and bashing to a new level. My head hurts even trying to figure out their logic. Why do they even bother checking out what WE think? Scared much?
    I’m still in my happy place picturing McG with a companion and hoping for that certain someone to return…

    Liked by 3 people

    • Sunny: I think that Alex may have been frustrated with nothing good lasting in Steve’s life. I can picture him saying just give me a dog-something to go home to at night that will be happy to see me and has no agenda other than loving me.
      It may be a military/police dog used to sniff bombs or drugs. Could be a Shepard because it is a very bright trainable dog or perhaps an attack Yorkie who can sniff out a bag of doggie treats in a locked cabinet. Seven pounds of testosterone. ( you just know they won’t cast a female canine—PMS, you know )

      Liked by 1 person

        • Joyfuljaj:

          I think it is going to be a female dog and Danny will make some snide remark that it is the only kind of female Steve has. ( I think Lynn is history and Cath is not back yet so they will give him a lady with four paws. )

          More importantly, sexy Harry the spy is back, hopefully for more than one episode. I wouldn’t mind if he replaced Dannoying. It could be a joint operation with H50 and M16 lasting all season while Danny is in NJ searching for an authentic pizza oven.

          Liked by 2 people

  12. I love the idea of Steve keeping the Dog! And – oh- do I love this place! I cannot stop laughing- have to catch my breath!
    I don’t do social media in any way- and I know for sure Why! Would’t waste time!
    I love all of you!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. PL posted on instagram a picture of Steve with cupid love arrows hitting is head. It was 802 think. Could Steve have just met his Doggie love? I hope so. He needs something in his life right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

