8.01 Press Release

801

“’A’ole e ‘ōlelo mai ana ke ahi ua ana ia” – McGarrett and Danny recruit Tani Rey (Meaghan Rath) to join the task force when diabolical hacker Aaron Wright (Joey Lawrence) releases a dangerous arsonist from prison, on the eighth season premiere of HAWAII FIVE-0, Friday, Sept. 29 (9:00-10:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. The season premiere includes animation of one of McGarrett and Danny’s infamous “car-guements.” Also, Randy Couture returns, and Joey Lawrence joins his brother, Andrew, when he guest stars as Aaron Wright, a hacker.

“’A’ole e ‘ōlelo mai ana ke ahi ua ana ia” is Hawaiian for “Fire Will Never Say that It Has Had Enough”

Meaghan Rath Joins the Cast as Tani Rey, the Newest Member of Five-0

Season Premiere Includes Animation of a McGarrett and Danno “Car-guement”

Randy Couture Returns

Joey Lawrence Joins His Brother, Andrew, When He Guest Stars as a Diabolical Hacker

REGULAR CAST:

Alex O’Loughlin (Steve McGarrett)
Scott Caan (Danny “Danno” Williams)
Chi McBride (Lou Grover)
Jorge Garcia (Jerry Ortega)
Meaghan Rath (Tani Rey)

RECURRING CAST:

Andrew Lawrence (Eric Russo)
Randy Couture (Jason Duclair)

GUEST CAST:

Kunal Sharma (Koa Rey)
Paige Hurd (Samantha Grover)
Joey Lawrence (Aaron Wright)
Kekoa Kekumano (Nahele Huikala)
Mike Buck (Fire Captain)
Donta Tanner (Guard #1)
Jake Feagai (Guard #2)
Earnest F. Kong (Randy Tao)
Lawrence Guillermo (Co-Pilot)

WRITTEN BY: Peter M. Lenkov & Eric Guggenheim & Rob Hanning

DIRECTED BY: Bryan Spicer

Credit to CBS

32 thoughts on “8.01 Press Release

  1. Hackers? Car-guments? Jason Duclair? Cartoons? Did they think fake Jack Lord was well done?
    Sorry, totally underwhelmed.

    PL made much of Steve and Danny planning to open a restaurant together Hilarious right? No. It is lazy and it shows a lack of creative ideas. So first we get Liver, then we get Radiation Poisoning and now Bickering Pizza? The sad part is that I watch Salvation and many of the same people from H50 are involved in that show. It is well written and acted and fast paced which proves that they know how to do it right but have given up on this show.

    I feel as though they have already ordered the hearse and it breaks my heart to see something I love destroyed. Fans deserve much better than this.

    Someone still loves comic books. Come to think of it, maybe they are pitching a McDanno cartoon as fan service.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. I seem to be in the minority but Jason Duclair doesn’t bother me. He was an interesting villain. Animated carguments only proves PL has lost all interest in putting forth a good product. All his sneak peeks from the interview I read just made me sigh in disappointment. Jerry in the field…..ugh. Tell me when Steve and Danny would have time to open and run a restaurant? I can’t believe he expects this show to go beyond this season.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. So very depressed about what I have read about the new season. I was reminded of this line .

    “therefore never send to know for whom the bells tolls; it tolls for thee.” John Donne.

    The PTB seem determined to ring that damn bell.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m excited for the season opener simply to see Alex back in action and to meet junior. I have always liked Jason Duclair, so i’m okay with his return according to how it is done. I don’t understand the concept (or motivation) for an animated cargument… Makes me think of iZombie but that show has always started with animation, so it makes sense. I have never thought there was a chance for a season 9 – sad for the newbie, but I don’t see where this could go for another season. I guess Steve could get kidnapped by aliens or his body snatched or something…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmmm, maybe one of the S08 episodes will be the #H50 equivalent of Star Trek S03E01, Spock’s Brain, which, according to Wikipedia, is “seen by both fans, and those who took part in its production, as the worst episode of the series.” McGarrett’s brain will be mysteriously removed, and Masi Oka will return as Max to help restore it. On coming back to life, McGarrett, after listening to both Max and Danno’s incessant stupid chatter, will kill them both.

      Liked by 3 people

  5. I think Duclair has been a great villain. And he’s a friend of Alex. They click, that’s good.
    Hope the animation of Steve is way better than Hirsch’s caricature in S6 (?).
    Excited to see Danny’s restaurant is set in motion. I wish him well.
    Means:
    I hope he gets a waiter who questions Dannoying’s every meatball, every pasta sauce, every pizza topping, every seasoning.
    I hope he gets a waiter who insults Dannoying about his choices of tablecloths or his way to fold pink napkins.
    I hope he gets a waiter who thinks it’s optional to follow Dannoying’s orders and instead insults and yells at his boss.
    And I hope he does all this, is loud, obnoxious and nasty IN FRONT OF THE PATRONS.
    Because obviously this behavior is funny.

    Liked by 7 people

  6. Season Premiere Includes Animation of a McGarrett and Danno “Car-guement”

    Could someone please tell me what this means . Are we getting Steve and Danny as cartoon characters while they have argument in the car if so that it just rubbish and silly and makes me sad that Peter could make this show even worst.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It means they have no shame. It means they think these arguments are funny and that a cartoon will make it even funnier.

      Either they have a low threshold for humor or they are laughing at the fans who buy into this nonsense. Personally, I think they are eating pizza and giggling like five year olds at how their “cheerleader twits” will accept anything, no matter how ridiculous.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Let’s just chill and wait what will happen with this animated thing. Maybe it is just a dream, Steve’s dream, his outlet, his catharsis where he slaps Dannoying in the face or throws him down a canyon, runs him over with his truck till his flat – you can do such things with a cartoon.
    I am still positive about S8. I think I’ll like the additions, Tani looks interesting (and I like Meaghan’s pictures btw!) and a fellow SEAL can’t hurt and can even be someone Steve can listen, really listen to, and Steve can talk, really talk to, without a wall of silence.
    And then there’ll be McWoof, don’t forget Eddie/Riley/Pakana, Steve’s new furry friend.
    And maybe maybe, if MB says ok and signs a contract, PL can announce something that will y’all crazy. In a good way. I’ll cover my ears then. They’re delicate, your Squeeees will do my tinitus no good. 😀

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Hopefully there will BE some good scenes and maybe even good eps. But the McDanno on this show has sunk to the level of that Jackass show from years back…stupid people saying and doing stupid things just to be stupid cos stupid people find stupid hilarious. 🙄

    Liked by 3 people

    • Stupid is who stupid does. Isn’t that something Forrest Gump said?
      So for me it is the D in McD who is stupid. The character Mc always tries to get out of it, to avoid these arguments, builds his WoS, does not want to get hurt by all the crap D says, he feels so often uncomfortable you can feel it all the way over the pond.
      And the actor O’L by now thinks D is tedious and annoying.

      Liked by 2 people

  9. GNP:

    “stupid people saying and doing stupid things just to be stupid cos stupid people find stupid hilarious”

    Right on point. You said it much better than anything I have ever seen written. Nothing needs to be added.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Does anyone know if anything special is being planned for 807 which I think? may be? the 185th episode? They must be filming 5 or 6 now so they can have at least 7 epis in the can for the premiere on 9/29/17. The 200th won’t come until S9. I don’t even know if they got 25 episodes this year again.

    Happy Labor Day if you are celebrating and if you are not, raise a glass and celebrate anyway. Wine is good. so is Beer. Vodka, Scotch and Whiskey work too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • S08E07 will be the 175th episode. I dunno if there will be a big deal made about this. I hear that PL will be hyping the 172nd, 186th and 191st episodes big time, actually, LOL.

      Like

  11. What do you mean by “hype”? I have read nothing. Could there be only 23 episodes this season? If my math is correct (and it is probably not) does 191 become the season finale if there are 23 episodes? Is he writing those episodes? 172 would be 804 and it must be already shot. What significance does 186 have. Something pivotal?
    Your sources are much better than mine.

    Like

        • Did they officially say how many episodes there will be this season? I had heard early on some rumblings about 22.

          I say go with 15 really GOOD episodes. Danny can still miss 5 of them.

          Like

          • I was guessing 23 only because Mr. Mike was having some fun with me ( I will get even) and said PL was hyping #191. Since PL likes to have a hand in the last episode of the season and 191 would make it #23, I came to a conclusion which maybe faulty.

            But if S8 is really the end, and I hope it is not, then the last episode, no matter what the Epi #, will be epic, have an unexpected turn, a ride needing a whole bottle of TUMS, and two boxes of tissues.

            Liked by 1 person

  12. Thought you would all like to know that Tani is the new female McGarrett, (as per our conductor on this fabulous ride)

    She’s must be Lori Weston in disguise. And we all know how that went down. Poor Tani.

    Have another cookie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so glad that I don’t get tweets from our fearless leader. Poor Lori was just not that competent as a the show wanted her to be. Steve was always rescuing her. I do hope that Tani does better with what they give her. I liked the actress in Being Human. Now, what kind of cookie and can I have two????

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

